Saturday Personal Readathon

Today, I’d like to escape this world with a few good books. It’s been a while since I’ve just sat down on a Saturday afternoon and read, so that’s what I’m going to do.

Michael and I might go see Spiderman later today, but between now and the time I go to bed, I will be sitting on my couch and reading. I already spent most of the morning reading With My Body by Nikki Gemmell. I’m also reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed and The Chameleon Couch by Yusef Komunyakaa. Also on the list to read today: Hicksville by Dylan Horrocks, The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson and more poetry

With My Body by Nikki Gemmell – When Harper Perennial pitched this book to me, I wasn’t really looking for a well-written alternative to 50 Shades of Grey, but the enthusiasm of the person from Harper who sent the email really convinced me. It’s written in the second person, which is usually something I despise, but I am actually loving it. I’m about 200 pages in.

After finishing – I ended up writing so much about this title, I decided to save it for another post. I liked it, but it wasn’t perfect. Now! On to Hicksville.

4 thoughts on “Saturday Personal Readathon

  1. Curling up with a book on the weekend is always a great idea! Happy reading. I can’t wait to read your thoughts about With My Body.

  2. Sounds like a quality way to spend a weekend! I am glad that, for all the controversy it’s caused, Fifty Shades of Grey has at least brought attention to other deserving authors!

    The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a very intriguing title and the book cover looks good, too! Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

Leave a Reply

