Summer! Buffy! Books! Sunburn! Poetry!

Summer! It is unofficially here! I’m visiting my parents this weekend and they have beautiful weather. (So beautiful, I am sunburned.) Now I am sitting under the umbrella in our backyard and it smells wonderful, like cut grass and not-city. I love the city, but I don’t always love the smell, especially in summer. We have to drive back up tomorrow and we’re not looking forward to the traffic, but it has been a relaxing weekend, so it was worth it.

I read two books while I was with my parents at the beach: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which I adored. I think it might be one of my favorite books ever. I can’t really explain why I never wanted to read it. There was a lot of hype and I wasn’t sure it could live up to all the praise. With these kinds of books, I usually let them sit for a while. Once the hype has died down, I can forget and just enjoy. I’m glad i finally read it. It’s beautiful and lovely and everything I could have hoped for in a novel. I also read The Unfinished Works of Elizabeth D by Nichole Beriner. This one reminded me a lot of Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan, which I also loved. It was the kind of book that can really be hit or miss for me, but after a slightly awkward start, I fell in love with the characters. I’m participating in a TLC Book Tour for this one, so you’ll hear more in a couple weeks.

We’re reading Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlen for my book club meeting on Thursday. I still haven’t actually started the book (what can I say, I like to procrastinate) and I’ll admit, the first few pages didn’t really hold my interest when I peeked at them a couple of weeks ago. Tell me. Will I like this book?

In other news, Memory’s constant love for Buffy the Vampire Slayer has made me want to watch it again, despite my lukewarm reaction to the first season. She seemed to have the same reaction, so I’m hoping that once I get past the first season, I will enjoy it more. There is a small group of us who are interested in doing the same thing and I think we’re going to make June Watch Buffy month to coincide with Memory’s month of Into the Hellmouth. If you’re interested, head on over to Suey’s blog to have your say!

Don’t forget! Next week is your chance to participate in the Read More/Blog More Poetry event, hosted by Kelly and I! You can post on any day of the week before Friday. I’ll be hosting the Mr. Linky this month and it will go up sometime tomorrow. Feel free to add your link whenever you get a chance and I’ll do a round up on Friday. Remember, all you need to do is post about poetry! That’s it. It can be a post about a favorite poem of yours, a discussion of poetry in general, or a profile of your favorite poet. It doesn’t matter, as long as the topic is poetry.

22 thoughts on “Summer! Buffy! Books! Sunburn! Poetry!

  1. I sure wish it were unofficially summer here. It was sooooo nice the week before last, but now it’s all cold and rainy and dark. Blah.

    I’ve got my fingers crossed you’ll enjoy Buffy a bit more once you’re further in. S1 remains my least favourite season, but the show gets seriously awesome from about the middle of S2 onwards. The whole thing fills me with squee.

    1. Boooo cold. NY has kind of been like that. I’m not really sure what to expect when I get back. I’m really excited to start watching Buffy!

    1. Erm, yes. I have a problem. I always end up rushing through the book club book unless it’s one I’m really excited about. I have lots of subway rides between now and then, though, so I should finish! I hope!

  2. I am a long-time Buffy fan, so obviously take my words with a grain of salt, but pretty much S2 and S3 are some of the best seasons of tv, ever. I know the first season is kind of cheeseballs (though I still love the quippy-ness), but S2 and S3 are not only witty, but plumb great emotional depths AND have really fulfilling back-story (it’s perhaps not quite as epic as Vampire Diaries, which I know you like, but similar… you know that the writers have thought about the story and planned it out well in advance). It’s just one of those great shows that is entertaining but also speaks to some of those painful yet pivotal parts of growing up, so do give S2 and S3 a whirl!

    1. I think if I had to pick a thing I loved about TVD it wouldn’t really be its epicness, so this bodes well. Also, I trust you! No grain of salt necessary. I’m even more excited to watch now!

  3. Yay to rewatching Buffy! I strongly second Memory’s assessment of the first season v. the second, and indeed I believe that is the commonly held opinion about the show. Persist! It will be so, so worth your while. (Also it won’t hurt if you develop a crush on Angel. That’s what kept me watching long enough to get to the good stuff.)

    1. LOL. I am actually already half-way through the season, so I don’t even have that much more to watch to get to the good stuff!

  4. It’s like I’m sitting on pins and needles whenever I think about the next Read More/Blog More Poetry event.

    Can’t wait to put up my post.

  5. Lu, been following you on Twitter for a while. Having just finished the April Platform Challenge with Robert Lee Brewer, have been learning to poke around blogs and found yours. Love it! As a result, I have nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award. To pick it up, visit sarah-w-bartlett.com. And thanks for the great diversity of information you put out there for all of us. Truly inspiring!!! Peace,

    1. Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for your kind words. They honestly made my day! I’ll post about this award soon.

  6. Can I just say that you MUST get past the first season. The second season and most of the rest are utterly amazing, and you have to watch the first season because the rest of the series harkens back to the first season — you need the entire story. You need to watch Buffy. NEED. Please?

  7. I love The Night Circus and any book by Heinlein, although Stranger in a Strange Land is one of my favorites. When it gets weird, remember it was written for a 1960’s audience! I have a poetry post up but won’t be around to put it on the Mr. Linky later today, as I’ll be on the road, driving back from suburban Chicago to rural Ohio.

Leave a Reply

