The Standalong!

I’m joining Trish’s Stand-along to read Stephen King’s The Stand in June and July!
1. What makes you want to read The Stand?

Well, it’s been a while since I really read something by Stephen King, but there was a time when I would have described him as my favorite author. It’s time to revisit my favorite author from my teen years!

2. Describe your preconceived notions of The Stand.

Honestly? I keep getting it confused with The Shining. They are one novel in my mind, which I realize is silly. But I actually have no idea what The Stand is about. I’ll be going into it mostly blind.

3. What was the last scary(ish) book you read or movie you saw?

Does Supernatural count? Some of the early episodes are really scary! Other than that, I don’t particularly like scary movies, though I have been known to read a horror novel or two. The last truly scary novel I read was probably The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey. A really scary(ish), awesomely disturbing novel.

4. Which version of the book will you be reading from?

I haven’t bought mine yet, but most likely the extended version.

5. What are you previous experiences with Stephen King?

Well, like I said, there was a time when I would have called Stephen King my favorite author. (Yet I didn’t know the plot of The Stand, I know.) I have read:

Carrie
The Green Mile
Bag of Bones
The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon
Hearts in Atlantis

So basically the books that were published when I was not quite a teenager (other than Carrie). By the time I got to high school, I had moved onto other things and other favorite authors. (Also, who let me read Bag of Bones and The Green Mile as an 11/12 year old?!)

6. Anything else you’d like to add (bonus points for being extra random).

I read a lot of books that weren’t appropriate for my age. I remember reading Jurassic Park at 9 or 10. Most of it went totally over my head, because I read it again in high school and understood so much more. I also adored The Green Mile. That wasn’t extra random, but that’s all I’ve got!

15 thoughts on “The Standalong!

    1. I’ve heard this one isn’t too scary. I’ll let you know though! Stephen King’s novels aren’t always scary.

  1. Man. I think everyone has read Stephen King except for me!! I remember trying to read Misery when I was in high school but my mom dissuaded me away from it. I also remember trying to slog through Jurassic Park but couldn’t get through the beginning science stuff. 😉 Mostly I enjoyed Grisham.

    I don’t do scary either and strangely enough neither do a lot of the fellow readalongers. We can all hold hands. 🙂

    1. Yes! Holding hands through the scary parts sounds like a good idea :). I had a lot of family who were Stephen King fans, including my dad. (Who was also the Jurassic Park fan!) So I read his books mostly because that’s what everyone else was reading! And the books were around the house.

  2. One of the things that always impressed me about King (well besides him being so darn prolific) is his ability to capture various aspects of humanity. I mean, take The Green Mile…TOTALLY different than Salem’s Lot.

    I have the edited version but might run up to the bookstore to pick up the uncut one just because it seems as though everyone else is doing it. #peerpressure

    1. I have to agree with you there! I think he sometimes needs a heavier editorial hand, but other than that, I think he’s a great writer!

  3. I think we were probably twins when it came to reading as teenagers 🙂 I loved Stephen King and Jurassic Park too :p I also loved Anne Sexton and Sylvia Plath at like 14 and I imagine you did too 😉 So glad you’re reading this with us!!

    1. I think we were, too, Chris! Though I never read Anne Sexton, I did love Sylvia Plath. I read the Bell Jar many times in high school, long before it was required. I’m excited to be reading this one too!

Leave a Reply

