Chime by Franny Billingsley

It has been far too long since I read Chime by Franny Billingsley to give it a proper review, but I wrote what I like to call the Chime Timeline on my GoodReads review and quite a few people have agreed with me, so I thought I’d repost it here. Chime is challenging everything I believe to be true about books! If I hadn’t had you guys telling me to just keep reading, I easily would have put Chime down after the first 50 pages and possibly even the first 100. Makes me wonder what other books I shouldn’t have given up on!

In other news, can we talk about the covers? I really thought the hardcover was the worst I’d seen, until the paperback. It’s not good, folks. Why, why, why are they trying to keep people from reading this fabulous book by having such terrible covers? I know that we shouldn’t judge books by their covers but we do. That’s why covers are pretty in the first place. To entice you! Now, the hardcover has, honestly, grown on me. But this book is so brilliantly creative, it would have been nice to see a cover that reflected that.

Anyway, rant over. Here is the Chime Timeline: An entirely emotional, non-professional review of Chime by Franny Billingsley

Pages 1-50: While I am a little bit intrigued, I’m really not feeling this. But Ana loved it. And Liz loved it. And so many other people loved it. They don’t usually steer me wrong. I guess I’ll keep reading.
50-100: I am still unsure. I’m not really connecting to Briony, though I’m interested in the dialect and the strange reality of the novel. I’ll keep reading.
101-200: WHAT is going on?! Now I have to keep reading just to try and figure it out. I’m still reading rather slowly and I wish the plot was moving a little bit faster.
201-250: Well, this is exciting! I’m glad I kept reading. It’s still not my favorite book, I mean, 200 pages is a lot to get through to find the exciting part.
251-325: OHHHHHH MY GOD THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVERRRRRRR. I LOVE IT TO PIECES, I’M SORRY I SAID ANYTHING BAD ABOUT IT. TRUE LOVE. LOVE. Love. LOVE!

Um, so yes. That last bit was a little incoherent. But it would be wrong to tell you what I loved so much, because I would like you to have the same exciting reading experience I did. Just listen to me when I say: this book doesn’t pass my personal 50-100 pages rule, but I’m so glad I kept reading. It was, without a doubt, worth it.

16 thoughts on “Chime by Franny Billingsley

  1. You made me extra curious. And I had to laugh at that last (not at all incoherent btw ;)) part of your reading experience. I can’t wait to get to it myself, but somehow I keep procrastinating on starting Chime. Perhaps because I so badly want to love it?

    1. I know what you mean, wanting to love something and then worrying that you won’t. But I truly think you will love Chime.

  2. Ok, so EVERYONE is in love with this book! I admit that I have ignored all of the reviews because, as you say, the cover repels me and the premise of the book itself doesn’t really make me think that I’d enjoy it. BUT your timeline makes me want to read it immediately. Decisions, decisions!

    1. I would say that this is an extremely difficult book to define, both in terms of cover art AND plot. For all my grumbling, I can see why they had some difficulty with it. I hope you’ll decide to read it!

  3. Hahahahaha!! This is one of the best reviews EVER!! I felt pretty much the same way as you about this one! So glad I stuck with it!! And yeah..that cover…I hated it too :/

    1. Ha! Thank you Chris! I’m glad I’m not alone in my feelings of Chime. And that cover! Bah! So disappointing.

  4. *giggles* I actually have a particular fondness for books that take a little while to get going, as long as I feel sure that they really are going to get good eventually. When you have to work for it a little bit, you end up valuing it more. (Sometimes.)

    1. The trouble is knowing which ones are going to get good and which ones are going to be a slog the whole way through!

Leave a Reply

