Pin It and Do It Update!

So, we are well into the Pin It and Do It Challenge and I have pinned and done so many things! Some things have pictures, many do not. You will have to live with my words.

Totoro!

Original Pin: 

Source: heavens-hellcat.livejournal.com via Lu@RegularRuminationPinterest

I’ve been working on Totoro off and on since February, but I didn’t get farther than about half the body. Check out my progress so far:

I was trying to hide it and have it be a surprise for Michael, but eventually it was too difficult to disguise the fact that the thing I was crocheting turned into a Totoro sized ball. He’s really excited about it! Which is good, because that was the goal. I changed the ear pattern a little bit to make the ears more shapely. (And, in my opinion, more Totoro-like.) The difference is small, but it’s there. It was also a pain, because I didn’t write down what I did for the first ear and then had to wing it for the second. I took it out several times to get it to match, but basically I reduced the stitches sooner than the original pattern called for and once it was the size I wanted, I extended the skinny part of the ear for more rows. His little chest arrows have been annoying. I can’t seem to get them centered properly! Maybe third times the charm? Totoro is stuffed with old t-shirts, that I was originally going to fashion into a rag rug, but this is as good a use for them as any. Also, looking at the two images side-by-side, I’m not sure why my Totoro seems to be so much skinnier. Hm. Might have to stuff another t-shirt in there.

Refrigerator Oatmeal!

Original pin: 

Source: theyummylife.com via Lu@RegularRumination on Pinterest

I didn’t take pictures of my refrigerator oatmeal because it wasn’t very cute. I made these recipes almost exactly, except I never got around to buying chia seeds. I started with the blueberry maple and it was DELICIOUS. So good. I definitely recommend making sure you’ve stirred it up though, because the distribution of my ingredients wasn’t great. Then I went on to make the vanilla/raspberry recipe. Except my raspberries were moldy. And I had just bought them too! I was so disappointed, so I added some blueberries. I’ll admit, the flavor wasn’t great and I needed something with a little sweetness in there. I used plain greek yogurt, like the recipe called for, but I imagine for the flavors where you don’t add maple syrup or chocolate or peanut butter, or a very sweet fruit like a banana, the vanilla or honey flavored greek yogurt would be a good touch. Or just a tiny dollop of honey, agave nectar, or maple syrup. I will definitely be making this again. I’m excited to experiment with other flavors. I want to try a peanut butter/chocolate one.

Scarf!

 

 

This is one of those things that is so simple, but I never would have thought of it! I love Pinterest for this type of thing. The weather here has been really strange and chilly and rainy, so I never know what to wear. When Meg came into the city, it was a beautiful day, but I thought it might be a little cold, so I decided to wear a scarf. I tied it like this and I thought it was pretty cute! It probably works better on a longer scarf/pashmina than the one I used, but I was still glad to knock off something else from my list!

That’s it for now! Hopefully I’ll have even more pinned and done next weekend. Are you participating in the Pin It Do It Challenge? What have you completed?

15 thoughts on “Pin It and Do It Update!

  1. Lots of great progress! I need to cook something or make something before May is over. I did one crafty thing but otherwise I have read.

  2. I love these challenge so much! Because I just pin and pin, and every once in a while I’ll try one, but it doesn’t seem to turn out like the pin! I love seeing these real life examples and hearing about them. I definitely need to try that refrigerator oatmeal!

    1. I think I’m going to keep pinning and doing this and maybe posting about it monthly? It’s motivation to do crafty things!

  3. I meant to tell you I liked your scarf that day, and it’s a very cute and different way to rock one! I love scarves and tend to don quite a few myself. Definitely going to have to try tying it that way.

  4. You are doing awesome!! I’m going to add this post to the linky–I’ve been sadly behind in my blogging and mostly just checking the linked posts so I missed this one. Hope you don’t mind. 😉

    I’ve repinned the oatmeal–definitely want to try that. And Totoro is looking SO cute. Crochet is one of those skills I’d love to learn but just haven’t wanted to take the time–too overwhelmed and don’t know where to start.

    1. Well, I tell this to Chris all the time. If we are ever in the same room, I will teach you to crochet and you will learn, I promise. I have taught four people to crochet successfully. They are all still crocheting! I will stop patting myself on the back now.

  5. […] Earlier this year, I participated in Trish’s Pin It Do It Challenge. I worked on a lot of things and finished a few, but I could have done a lot better. Now the project is back (you can sign up at the link to Trish’s blog above). This month I have lots of plans to cook a lot of good food found on Pinterest, make a few crochet projects (I have a lot of yarn to use up!) and maybe a few other things. Here’s are some pins I’d like to get done this month: […]

Leave a Reply

