Read More/Blog More Poetry April Wrap-up and Saturday Musings

April’s Read More/Blog More Poetry event has come and gone. You can read the summary and wrap-up post over at Kelly’s blog for a list of all the participants and an announcement. Essentially, after four months of seeing how the event goes, we’ve decided to change a few things. First, we’ve decided to open up the entire week (Monday to Thursday) to poetry posts. Now our posting schedule looks like this:

May – May 28 – 31
Jun – June 25 – 29
Jul –  July 23 – 26
Aug – August 27 – 30
Sep – September 24 – 27
Oct – October 29 – November 1
Nov – November 26 – 29
Dec – December 24 – 27

We’ll still be posting a round up on Fridays. While we originally wanted the theme to be very open, from the feedback we’ve received, it seems like you would be more interested in just a little bit more structure, like having one poem to discuss or a topic. I like that idea, too. It wouldn’t be mandatory, because I’m still really interested in the types of posts everyone posts on their own. Kelly and I are going to discuss a possible poem to discuss next month and we’ll let you know what we decide. Thank you for all your honest, wonderful feedback. If you have anything you’d like to add in terms of what you would like to see happen with the Read More/Blog More Poetry Event for the rest of the year, please don’t hesitate to let us know. We want this to be something that you enjoy participating in and anything to make that easier or more exciting is awesome.

As for my musings, well I spent most of this week completely devouring two novels by Gillian Flynn, the forthcoming Gone Girl, which I got from Netgalley, and Dark PlacesYou can really see how she has grown as a writer and I will say that Gone Girl is more twisty and even more disturbing from a psychological standpoint, though Dark Places is much more violent. I think she’s a brilliant writer and I’m torn right now between finishing Sharp Objects this weekend and waiting to savor it.

I’m also trying and trying to kick this bronchitis. I was on antibiotics last weekend, but they didn’t do too much, because I was still out of breath all week and my chest hurt horribly. I finally went back to the doctor yesterday and he gave me more antibiotics and steroids to help the breathing. The last time I was on antibiotics was when I was a freshman in college and what seemed like half the school came down with strep. I’ve never been very good at making myself rest. It seems like when I don’t need to rest I’m all, “Yes, let’s go to bed at 10:30 and read all day.” But when something is forcing me to rest? No, I want to stay up all night and travel all over the place.

I’ve had a productive Saturday already, since I finished a book (Dark Places) and I got groceries for the week. Now I’m going to write some reviews, do a few chores (mostly laundry) and hopefully organize my books at some point. They’re just in piles all over the place and I don’t know what to do with them. I have this shelf/desk combo from Ikea, and it offers a lot of storage space, but it’s also very difficult to get to the shelves. I think I might turn it around so the shelf is facing outward. I’m going to give it a try and see what I think. I’m worried, though, that  it will make our already cramped space seem even smaller. I guess there’s only one way to see if it will work!

I hope you have a wonderful Saturday!

I am a Powell’s affiliate. If you click a link to Powell’s from my site and purchase something, I will receive a very small commission.
2 thoughts on “Read More/Blog More Poetry April Wrap-up and Saturday Musings

  1. When I have strep, I seriously feel like I’m dying. Last time I had it, I could barely lift my head off the pillow. I didn’t have my Nook yet, so I downloaded books on my iPhone and laid with it on my pillow. It was pretty pathetic. All that to say, REST! Do it!

    Also, I have only heard of Flynn recently. Need to get her books.

Leave a Reply

