Readathon!

I know I’m a little late in posting here today, but I spent the morning posting over at the Readathon blog. I’m very proud of some of the gifs I included. I haven’t done much reading, because I’ve got a nasty case of bronchitis. I’ve been casually picking up Chiggers by Hope Larson and if I’m feeling up to it, I might read The Lost Saints of Tennessee by Amy Franklin-Willis. I’ll update this as the day goes by maybe with some minichallenges. For now, here is a Cinna gif for absolutely no reason other than I like gifs and I like Cinna. Have a Cinnasational readathon!

Guys! I’m finally ahead of my Goodreads goal for the year! I have been frustrated with that thing all year and now I’m winning. Go me! So Chiggers. It was okay. I liked the very camp-like things about it. The friendship bracelets, ghost stories, those things. But honestly, I always feel like something is missing from Hope Larson’s comics. Like the comics could be taken to the next level and they just aren’t. I also was confused about who we were supposed to be rooting for, if anyone. I don’t know. But, 1 book ahead! Yeah!

Since it is National Poetry Month, I decided to finally finish the Best American Poetry 2011. This is easily one of the best collections of poetry that I’ve ever read and I just didn’t want it to end. I dog eared nearly every page, to the point where I just should have marked the poems I didn’t like, because it would have been so few. I usually prefer shorter poems, but there were quite a few longer poems in this collection that just stunned me, like “Motown Crown” by Patricia Smith. I really recommend you go read it. It’s just a beautiful piece of poetry. Other favorites include “Elegy” by Natasha Trethewey, “Pantoum for the Imperceptible” by Bianca Stone (pantoums are one of my favorite forms), “The Smallest” by James Schuyler, and “Angels” by Katha Pollitt. Sigh. Such a lovely collection.

9 thoughts on “Readathon!

  1. Cinna. *sigh* I love his character so much.

    Now – happy Readathon! Sorry you aren’t feeling fantastic, but a day lying around reading sounds pretty perfect if you’re under the weather. Hope you’re taking care of yourself.

Leave a Reply

