Orange Prize Project Update – Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

The first book I sat down to start reading for this project was Lord of Misrule, Jaimy Gordon’s National Book Award winning novel about horse racing and the people whose paths cross at the racetrack. I’ve promised myself to make it through at least 50 pages of each of the Orange Prize winners, but I can’t seem to get any further in Lord of Misrule. So, I’m going to take a page out of Jackie’s book and ask you: is it worth powering through?

I like the writing, but I can’t really connect with any of the characters other than Maggie. It’s a difficult book to read, but a beautiful one. There are passages that have taken my breath away, but there are a lot of pages in between these passages.

What do you think? Should I finish?

5 thoughts on “Orange Prize Project Update – Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon

  1. This was a DNF for me. I don’t know much about horse racing, and the author seemed to assume the reader would know a lot more than I did. And I didn’t care about the characters. Maybe I missed out by not finishing it, but I don’t feel bad about it. 🙂

  2. By all means finish. Beauty is rare, difficult, and worth the effort. The first fifty pages are prologue. The best is yet to come.

  3. The way you’re feeling about this book now is pretty much the way I felt about it when I finished. I was impressed by it, thought the writing was beautiful, but just didn’t love it. I admired it.

  4. I gave up at around the 50 page mark too! I agree with you – beautiful writing, but I can’t connect with any of the characters. Unfortunately I’m finding a similar problem with a lot of the Oranges. I’ve given up on four in a row this weekend. 😦

  5. I never managed to even get to page fifty when it was nominated for the National Book Award. I’ve vowed to try it again now that it’s on the Orange list, but I admit I’m dreading it. At least it’s short!

Leave a Reply

