March Reading

Back in 2009, the very first challenge I ever hosted was a celebration of Women’s History Month. For the month of March, a few bloggers and I only read books by women. I’d like to do the same thing this year, but with a twist: I’m going to read the entire Orange Prize longlist.

Two of the books are not available in the US and two others I have read, so this is the final list:

  • Island of Wings by Karin Altenberg (Quercus) – Swedish; 1st Novel
  • The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen (The Clerkenwell Press) – American; 4th Novel
  • The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue (Picador) – Irish; 7th Novel
  • Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan (Serpent’s Tail) – Canadian; 2nd Novel
  • Lord of Misrule by Jaimy Gordon (Quercus) – American; 4th Novel
  • Painter of Silence by Georgina Harding (Bloomsbury) – British; 3rd Novel
  • Gillespie and I by Jane Harris (Faber & Faber) – British; 2nd Novel
  • The Translation of the Bones by Francesca Kay (Weidenfeld & Nicolson) – British; 2nd Novel
  • The Blue Book by A.L. Kennedy (Jonathan Cape) – British; 6th Novel
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Harvill Secker) – American; 1st Novel
  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (Bloomsbury) – American; 1st Novel
  • Foreign Bodies by Cynthia Ozick (Atlantic Books) – American; 7th Novel
  • There but for the by Ali Smith (Hamish Hamilton) – British; 5th Novel
  • The Pink Hotel by Anna Stothard (Alma Books) – British; 2nd Novel
  • Tides of War by Stella Tillyard (Chatto & Windus) – British; 1st Novel
  • The Submission by Amy Waldman (William Heinemann) – American; 1st Novel

That’s 16 books. I expect that this will take me at least through April, if not later, but it also depends on how soon my library holds come in. The Night Circus, for example, has an extensive hold list. I don’t expect to be getting that one for at least a couple months. I’m starting this adventure by reading Lord of Misrule and Foreign Bodies this weekend.

Related Links

Melissa @ The Feminist Texican Reads is spending March posting about women’s studies and women’s studies | KidLit Celebrates Women’s History Month

8 thoughts on “March Reading

  1. Good luck reading all these! I have several on my hold list at the library but there are a few I am just not interested in reading.

  2. I think this is an awesome idea. Did you know that I still get views from that Women’s History Month post years ago? Good luck with your reading. Are you going to try to get the books that aren’t available in the U.S. from Book Depository?

  3. Just wondering: I have a brand new There But For The on CDs. if you would be interested, would you have any book paper/hardcover/Cds you would be like available to swap with me?
    Emma @ Words And Peace
    ehc16e at yahoo dot com

Leave a Reply

