January Round-Up

I used to do a round up each month of my reading and blogging, but I gave up on it probably two years ago. There was some debate about whether this was a useful kind of post. Did it really provide your readers with any information that they didn’t already have? Was it productive? Was it spam? Also, I am lazy. Pulling that commitment left me time to do other things with the blog. While getting rid of the monthly round ups was, at the time, the right decision, I’ve realized that I missed the posts. I like seeing everything that was accomplished in one month and I like having all the books I’ve read in one place. It gives you a big picture glimpse into my reading and what I’ve liked. Plus, then at the end of the year it’s easier to go back and see what I’ve done for all the year-end lists we all love so much.

I’m sure that’s way more information than you needed about why I stopped writing a monthly review post. And, now, look at me, it’s almost March and I’m just now getting up the January one. It doesn’t bode well for a new start, does it? Oh well, there’s always next month.

Books Read

1. The Lost Art of Keeping Secrets by Eva Rice
2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
3. Proust Was  A Neuroscientist by Jonah Lehrer
4. How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive by Chris Boucher
5. So Much Pretty by Cara Hoffman
6. On Borrowed Wings by Chandra Prasad

I think my favorite book this month was The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, though it wasn’t my favorite novel by Green. The strangest book I read was most certainly How to Keep Your Volkswagen Alive. None of the books were disappointing. I liked all of them.

The only disappointing thing about this list is the fact that I spent most of the month reading one book that didn’t make this list because I finished it on February 1st: Moby Dick. I also spent most of the month posting about Moby Dick, so I didn’t get a chance to do a lot of reviewing this month. Is there a book on this list that you’re dying to see a review of? Otherwise I will probably just do mini-reviews.

On the Blog

January was an excellent month for blogging. First, there was the Moby Dick readalong, which went swimmingly, hosted by The Blue Bookcase. I loved participating and I’m so glad I read this classic. Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

The first month of The Read More/Blog More Poetry Event was a hit. I’m so proud of how well this went and I sincerely hope we see it happen again this month.

Finally, I participated in the 50 Years, 50 Blogs book tour for A Wrinkle in Time, an event I was thrilled to be a part of.

In My Life

Things were pretty quiet after the holidays. Just a lot of work and freelancing and a lot of Friday Night Lights. I am working on two big crochet projects that January-Leslie will be disappointed to learn I’m still working on. The weather really got to me in January, but now that it is almost March, we can accurately say that spring is around the corner… right?

Next month (read: in nine days), I’d like to also include my favorite links from around the community, though I was much too disorganized to make that happen in January.

4 thoughts on “January Round-Up

  1. I really enjoy monthly round up posts, and am glad to see you’ve brought yours back. I think that just finished the month off nicely and give us all a moment to reflect back before we all start looking forward to what we want to read next 🙂

  2. I like monthly round-up posts like this…when you intersperse some commentary about life and it’s not just this is what I read and these are the new books I got.

    And spring has sprung out here in CA…it’s been HOT this week!

Leave a Reply

