A Moby Dick Readalong for Your Winter Blues

So when I posted my TBR Dare/Challenge post, I cheekily listed Moby Dick on there, thinking there was little chance I’d actually read it. But then so many people commented saying that they loved Moby Dick and that I should start of 2012 with that particular novel. Of all the books I listed, more people mentioned Moby Dick. Then it seemed to be everywhere. People were writing blog posts about it, saying how much they loved or hated it. Finally, I just decided that Moby Dick will be one of the first books I read in 2012. Someone (Jillian, perhaps?) pointed me toward the Conquering Moby Dick Readalong by The Blue Bookshelf and I’m thrilled to join in.

I’ve already started reading and let me just tell you, I love it so far! It’s so interesting and actually funny in some parts, though I’m not entirely convinced it’s supposed to be funny. Most of all, though, I love the narrator and his voice and I think there are some truly beautiful passages about the sea. I can’t wait to keep reading more. So if you think you might like to join in, the first post goes up on January 12! I know it’s soon, but I’m surprised how quickly I’ve been reading Moby Dick. We’ll see if I still feel the same way when I’m 200 pages in, but so far, so good.

Thanks for convincing me to read Moby Dick, y’all!

5 thoughts on “A Moby Dick Readalong for Your Winter Blues

  1. I’m so happy you like it!! That was my reaction, too. 🙂 I can’t remember if I was the one who told you about the readalong, but I’ve told a few people, so it’s certainly possible. 🙂

    Have a good week, Lu!

  2. Unfortunately, It’s not on my TBR shelf. I’m sticking to the dare. Have to since I started it. Years ago I read the first couple of hundred pages and enjoyed them. I’ve no idea now why I stopped reading it.

    I agree with you about how funny it is. It’s the narrator, as I recall, who makes it so funny. His take on events is quite good.

Leave a Reply

