RIP & Autumn time

Friends! It is that time again:

What? Oh. Yeah. Carl announced this TWO WEEKS AGO. But time just got away from me and suddenly it’s almost October and while I’ve been reading plenty of RIP books, I haven’t been talking about them. I’m fashionably late, as they say. But I’ve also noticed that I’m having the hardest time coming up with good ideas for books to read now that I’ve almost finished The Monstrumology series by Rick Yancey (get thee to a bookstore and BUY THESE, or to a library and check them out, especially if you are RIPing at the moment). I asked for suggestions three years ago during RIP and got some amazing answers. In fact, one of them ended up being one of my favorite reads of the year: Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury. I’ve also loved We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson andThe House Next Door by Anne Rivers Siddons. So please… could you help me out again?

Tell me what I should read this year to get in the autumn spirit. Tell me what books will make it feel like fall, will make me excited for one of my favorite holidays, Halloween.

Thank you in advance. You are all fabulous, but you already knew that.

7 thoughts on “RIP & Autumn time

  1. I don’t know that I have any truly spooky recs for you, but I will say that even though I don’t actually ever participate in things like RIP and the like, I am probably going to read Justin Evans’ A GOOD & HAPPY CHILD soon, which I remember you really enjoyed!

  2. I have never read Something Wicked This Way Comes and quickly checked to see if it was a banned book… I dont see that it is… odd…LOL, I could have used it for Banned Books week. Oh well, sounds like i need to read it anyway.

  3. I don’t like scary things, even though I’m trying, so I tend to go for lighter Halloween reads. Some of my favorites: Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde, The Gates by John Connolly, and the Mistress of the Art of Death series by Ariana Franklin. This year I’m thinking I might try Dracula!

Leave a Reply

