BBAW Day 2 – Interview Swap!

I love the interview swap! It’s one of my favorite parts of BBAW, simply because you really get to know a blogger that you, usually, have never met before. This year, I get to interview Sheila of Book Journey. Before this year’s BBAW, Sheila and I have never crossed paths, but we both signed up to help Amy and Danielle of There’s A Book coordinate the interview swaps. (That’s right, if you’re not happy with your partner, blame one of us! But I sincerely hope everyone is happy, of course!) It’s been a blast working with Sheila and getting to know her a little better.

1) If you could be a character in any one novel, which novel would it be? Why? You don’t necessarily have to be one of the characters in the novel. For example, you could choose to live in the Harry Potter universe or you could choose to be Hermione Granger.

I recently did a character interview with my buddy Ryan (Wordsmithonia) and said I would totally love to be Mia from Nora Roberts Three Sisters Trilogy.  Now it is really weird as I do not read Nora Roberts – but hear me out…. the Three Sisters Trilogy (Dance Upon The Air, Heaven and Earth, Face The Fire) would stand up to any Paranormal reads of today.  🙂

I would also love to live on the island that they talk about in this book….  set me up… I am there.

2) Has blogging made you a more adventurous reader? If yes, what’s one book that you’ve read because of blogging that you otherwise might not have picked up? Are there books you’ll still avoid?

Yes – TOTALLY.  I love that.  Blogging about books led to comments suggesting other books I may like, as well as reading book blogs and finding books that I wanted to try – yes yes yes… I am way more adventurous in my reading than I was three years ago.

My one book example would be Hunger Games.  Based on the synopsis… kids killing kids?  Uhhhh…. I’ll pass.  But the blog raves, I had to read it…. then I became an evangelist for the series and sold other people on the book. I think thats what we do as book bloggers…. we spread the book love.

As far as books I avoid… I have never been a romance reader and  am pretty sure I never will be.  I dont mind the occasional love story, but romance has never been my genre.  That would be a tough sell.

3) What made you start blogging? What do you like to do when you’re not blogging or reading?

I started blogging before I knew I was blogging.  I thought I was just keeping an online journal of what I was reading.  I tend to read so much occasionally I will read a book that I have already read and I thought by journaling I may avoid that.  When people started commenting it kind of freaked me out.  Now I love the comments and feel I have made many friends (some I have met!) through this crazy world of book journaling… errr…. blogging.

When I am not reading and reviewing I love to ride my bike in Minnesota bike tours.  I enjoy meeting people and have a lot of fun.  I do several 75 – 150 mile bike rides a year.  I also enjoy rollerblading, traveling, Mission trips to Honduras, crazy events, and hanging out with friends and family.

4) Book favorite basics: Favorite book? Favorite author? Favorite series? Favorite genre?

This one is tough.  I used to be able to easily tell someone my favorite book… now there are so many, same goes for author, series, and genre.  I am a diverse reader.  I would say that I have a place in my heart for The Harry Potter Books because they are so amazing and have made so many readers.  J K Rowling is amazing. I always read anything by Harlan Coben, Denis Lehane, Deen Koontz,  like many genres too.

5) Who influenced you most as a reader?

 I dont know if I have any influences to my reading.  I have read since I was a young girl… and neither of my parents were readers, nor do I have any fond memories of anyone reading to me… its just what I did.  I have always found so much in books.  In fourth grade I received the class bookworm award… one I still hold on to fondly.

6) What’s the meaning of life? (Steph of Steph Su Reads asked me this in my first ever BBAW and I can’t help but keep including it in my interviews)

The meaning of life?  Hee hee….  I wish I knew.  I think life is training for something bigger.  Here we learn how to handle different situations, some hard lessons, some not too bad… I think we learn to love one another, treat each other, ourselves,and the earth with respect and be the best version of ourselves that we can.

Thanks so much Sheila! I’ve loved getting to know you today. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

27 thoughts on “BBAW Day 2 – Interview Swap!

  1. I’ve never stopped to think about The Hunger Games being about kids killing kids before! I saw so much blog love for it that I knew I had to read it before I even knew what it was about, but now you mention it I can see that it doesn’t appeal at all! – I’m so glad bloggers persuaded me to read it too. 🙂

  2. Great interview, Lu and Sheila. I think I learn a little something every time I read one of these…and I’ve been following Sheila’s blog for awhile. I also enjoy learning about books I might never have picked up, just be reading book blogs.

    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Awesome interview! I love reading these. & I completely agree – blogging (and reading others’ blogs) has really made me come out of my box and pick up books I normally wouldn’t.

  4. I didn’t know you was a HarlanC fan. I must read him soon, I heard his name so much during Thrill Week. What’s the meaning of life – I wish I knew too 🙂 so many things and different things on different days……..

  5. Great interview. As was Sheila’s with you, Lu. I’ve followed Sheila for over a year now and yet I feel I know her better now than I did yesterday. I’m so thrilled she introduced me to you too! I see in your profile that you are a crocheter–me too!! In fact the last couple of years I let crochet take over my life to the point even reading got pushed aside. Then I strained my arm on August 11 and had to stop for two weeks which allowed other passions to worm their way back in.

    read with joy

  6. These are fantastic questions and answers. I loved the photos and that she bikes a lot. I really loved her answer to the meaning of life; we have a similar view point on that one.

  7. Whoa, what’s the meaning of life? That’s a tough question to answer :P. And I love the book blogging community because they’ve turned my eyes onto to reads that I never would have thought to love.

  8. I adore Sheila as she was my first bogger mentor, though I’m not sure she knew it at the time. She was also my first partner for these interviews 2 years ago. She is still one of my favorites and I look forward to many more years of her blog.

  9. Ahhh…. just got home from work and how fun is this! 🙂 I have to say Lu, I must have been tired when I was working on the interview swaps…. until your post here I did not put it together that you were the Lu that was on the team with us…. your match to me was completely random…. oh man! LOL

    I have had a lot of fun getting ot know you through this process too! I have added another great blog to my list!

  10. I love sheila’s answer to the meaning of life! “Be the best version of you that you can” lovely! I also love that she stumbled into book blogging by mistake!

  11. It is always good to get to know Sheila a bit better. A fantastic person she is with a fantastic blog!

    Hey Sheila – I am still envious that you are able to do the 75-150 mile bike rides. If I did not work weekends then I would do my best to ride a few rides like you do. You inspire me with your riding.

  12. CAn you believe I’ve never read any books by Nora Roberts?! I’m ashamed to say that, BUT things are about to change! LOL

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m following you via twitter now ; ]

  13. I really need to go check out BBAW! I’m a book blogger, but I don’t know anything about it. Lu, nice to meet you. This is my first visit. I’m a regular over on Book Journey.

Leave a Reply

