A note on life, books and blogging

Ah, summer. Every summer I find myself writing a post about how, shockingly, summer is never what I expect it to be. I always expect to have a ton of time to blog, but like every summer, this one finds me blogging a little bit less. I blog when I have the chance and I’m okay with that. There have been a lot of people lately that have been changing their blog, making it a more personal blog, and I love that. I love to hear what people are doing in their lives and I love to hear how everyone is. Because if I don’t know who you are as a person, how can I know who you are as a blogger? On our blogs we are who we want to be. I think most of us try to be as close to our real-life selves as possible, but we are still our best selves. Or rather, the best self we are capable of  projecting. I want my book reviews to be about the books, but I also want them to be about me. I want you to know how and why I relate to a book so you can know if you will, too. But I, too, get tired of just expressing that person through book reviews.

Regular Rumination has never been anything but what I have made it. I know what I want Regular Rumination to be and I hope you don’t mind that it has never been as well-organized as some other blogs, as focused or even as open. I admire bloggers who are able to turn their blog into a brand, but the truth is that Regular Rumination has always just been about me and my thoughts. Though in my professional life I have decided to pursue publishing, thanks largely to this blog and the connections I have made because of it, I want to let you know that Regular Rumination will continue to be what it already is: me, telling you about books. I don’t review the most recent books, I don’t get tons of review copies, I often leave my “Currently Reading” book photo unchanged for months, and I read what I want, when I want. I read YA, I read literary fiction, I read comics, I read nonfiction; I have a niche, and it is called words.

Sometimes the pressure is there to make Regular Rumination bigger than it is. Sometimes jealousy is there, I admit that openly. But the overwhelming majority of the time, I’m just as in love with my little corner of the internet as I was when I wrote my first post. Blogging has changed a lot since Regular Rumination began, mostly because social media is always shifting and changing and reinventing itself. I started this blog when the internet was still a place where you kept your name a secret, but the reality is that Lu, while a nickname that I use mostly on the internet, is as much a part of me and my identity as Leslie is. I have been some variation of Lu on the web since 2001 and while I sometimes contemplate going by Leslie, especially since I want to jump into the publishing industry, it’s never suited this blog or my internet identity. I’ll always be Lu here and that separation is necessary. I want books to present in every part of my life, but I still want this, my hobby and my passion, to be different from my job.

All of this began as a simple note, a note to explain one thing that has changed at Regular Rumination the last few months. I’m sure you’ve noticed more review copies and NetGalley titles. I wanted to express that this is not because I am not buying books, I’m buying and reading just as many books as before, but I’m in the process of moving, twice. So I will not have access to a library for at least another month or two and most of my books are in storage. For that reason, I have been reading review copies and NetGalleys to make up for the library books that I no longer have access to.

Life sometimes gets in the way of blogging, but blogging sometimes changes your life. My career has changed, for the better, and I have met such amazing people through Regular Rumination. I hope I’ll get to meet some of you in real life some day. For now, I’m happy with what this blog is and what it has become. I’m happy that I can write nearly 1,000 words about blogging and books and reviewing and feel that it has a place on my blog. I’m happy that I can ramble and I don’t have to apologize, this is my space and you have helped me make it what it is. I’m happy that I see Regular Rumination being my home on the internet for a long time. Thank you for being such a huge part of my little corner of the internet. Thank you for talking about books with me.

13 thoughts on “A note on life, books and blogging

  1. I sometimes feel pressure to make my blog bigger than it is — accept more review books, do more projects, be more out there… but then it tires me out. I have a lot of other thing I want to be doing, and if the blog gets too big then I can’d do that either. I’ve always enjoyed your blog Lu, and plan to keep reading even as things shift and change 🙂 Don’t spend too much time thinking about it, just blog and continue to enjoy it!

  2. And thank you for talking about them!

    I have a niche, and it is called words.

    It’s the right choice for some blogs to specialize, but as a fellow “I READ EVERYTHING!” blogger, this is so true. I love stories, not genres, though I like some better than others.

  3. What an amazing post, Lu! We all feel that pressure to make our blogs “more” but I’m glad that you’ve decided to keep it about you and your love of books. Keep doing what you want to do with your corner and we’ll keep coming back. 🙂

  4. Such a lovely post 🙂 I especially love this line:

    “Life sometimes gets in the way of blogging, but blogging sometimes changes your life.”

    So true! Blogging has given me the oppurtunity to do so many amazing things, so even though I sometimes get fed up of the negatives I always come back.

    Writing over the Summer is going to be hard for me too, but we should all just stop worrying about it and write when we can. Good luck with everything 🙂

  5. Lu this is seriously one of the best posts of the week! I agree with you on so many accounts: love getting to know the people behind the book reviews(!); voracious and yet inconsistent reader & blogger (me!); admire those branders but will never be one.

  6. I’m so with you. To me, book blogging is a wonderful chance to talk books, meet fellow readers and find new recommendations. I don’t look at it as an obligation or chore and that’s the joy of it!

  7. Book blogging is something I consider myself to be on the fringe of (what a messed up sentence that is! sorry) but there are so many lovely people out there. I love your blog; keep up with it in whatever for you like!

  8. Lu, you have written a great post. A good reminder that it’s best to try to remain true to ourselves. And I know the feeling about having thought you’ll have more time to blog during the summer (or at least remain on the same pace as usual) — I’m finding it very hard to do so.

  9. Yep/nope… I DID read this and couldn’t comment for whatever reason and just needed to let you know that you are awesome! Be true, don’t be blue, do what will get done and always remember to have BIG fun! (I’m feeling a bit silly today…)

  10. Great post! I feel exactly the same way, about summer, about my inner book blogging conflicts (should I force myself to blog to keep viewership or should I only blog for myself?), about internet identity vs. job identity. I love reading the book blogs that are personalized and not just the standard: title, author, synopsis, impressions, ratings… that I have going on, haha.

  11. A little late to the game on this one, clearly. I’ve been reordering my priorities quite a bit recently. I’ve devoted this month almost entirely to rereading Harry Potter, a project I wouldn’t have taken on until now. As much as I love my blog I do let it stress me out. I think it’s impossible to not let it stress you out in some way. But what is really important to me is the people I talk to about books, and I know they’ll still be here whether I post every day or once a week.

Leave a Reply

