Weekend Update

Oh, April and May. Every year, Regular Rumination gets quiet as spring turns into summer. I wish I could blame it on BEA, but yet again I was unable to go! Next year, though, I WILL be there. That’s a promise. But it’s not like I’ve been sitting here moping about not being at BEA. No, I’ve been at the beach and starting a new internship and started looking for jobs for the fall when I make a big move. Life has been busy, but every day I feel more and more like blogging, so I promise things will get more active around here. Some people lose their blogging mojo in the depths of winter or when spring is just beginning, but for me it is always when summer is around the corner and suddenly exams are over and I shed all obligation, including my blog.

But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading, or getting super excited for some events on the horizon.

First, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m a judge on the Poetry panel for the Indie Lit Awards. I hope you all are reading your books of poetry so you can nominate in September what you think is the best book of poetry published in 2011. Please nominate things!

If you’re interested in finding recently published books of poetry, please see my previous post on the Indie Lit Awards with a handy Amazon tutorial on finding recently published books, including poetry.

 

Second, it’s Nerds ❤ YA time!!! I’m so excited about this. I had so much fun participating last year. I was in the first round and actually chose the book that ended up being the runner up. This year, I’m a second round judge and I am so excited. The short list has been posted and you can enter to win some amazing prize packs from the authors whose books are in the tournament.

Nerds ❤ YA was started by Rene, of subverting the text, to showcase young adult books that don’t get as much publicity as they deserve. It’s a “Tournament of Books” bracket-style competition and for the past two years has a had a focus on diversity, by featuring books that are written by authors or feature characters who fall under one of the following categories: persons of color, GLBT, disability, mental illness, religious lifestyle, lower socioeconomic status, and/or plus size.

As for what I’ve been reading, well I re-read Harry Potter, which was absolutely delightful. I think I will post on that eventually. I’ve also read The Watery Part of the World by Michael Parker, which was out of this world amazing. I’m also in the middle of The Mists of Avalon. It’s fabulous, but long. It’s a lot longer than its page count, considering how tiny the writing is and how big the pages are!

Anyway, see you soon! This week I should be back to posting regularly.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Update

  1. You know what, Lu? I love that you post whenever you feel like it. Sometimes you post close together, sometimes far apart, and both are okay. I love that you are comfortable with that and dont’ keep trying to post even when you dont’ feel like it. I think that’s a good lesson for a lot of us, me included, to learn!

  2. I think shedding all obligations is such a healthy thing to do now and then! So good for you!!! That said, I’m glad your desire is coming back. 😀

  3. Mists of Avalon… UGH. I would really like to read that sometime as it has been sitting on my shelf for ages.

    ALSO, big move?!?! Didn’t you just move? Are you going even farther away?

  4. I’ve never heard of Nerds Heart YA before. I’ll have to check it out. Annnndd you must got to BEA next year. I demand it.

Leave a Reply

