Read the World (1) – Some Dream for Fools – Faïza Guène

So, I started this crazy project. It’s not a challenge, because that word makes me fail things. It’s just something I want to do. There’s no time limit, it’s not the most original idea and I’m so excited about it – I’m reading a book by an author from every country in the world.

I’ve been compiling a list of books available in my library system and you can see them all with the tag “read the world” on my GoodReads. I’m about half way through the Wikipedia list of sovereign states. It’s easier to find authors from some countries than for others. I’ve made some exceptions – I’d like it to be all fiction, but I’ve had to include some non-fiction titles and, in some cases, books that are about a country but not by an author of that country. Those are more place holders than anything else.  I will find books published by authors in every country, it just might take me a while to be able to afford them, because they aren’t available in my library.

All of this is to say, this is the first book I read for the project!

Faïza Guène is an Algerian woman who lives in France. She’s toted as one of the best young literary voices in Europe at the moment and writes about the immigrant life in France. This particular novel follows Ahlème while she tries to navigate life in the city, caring for her aging father and younger brother, trying to find permanent employment and her love life. I loved Ahlème and her dark humor and the trials she finds herself in were poignant and relevant.

It’s a relatively short novel, coming in at only 192 pages, and it felt that way. There isn’t exactly a plot, it is just a short segment of Alhème’s life. She muses on what it is like to be an immigrant in France, from fear of deportation to the danger of younger men, like her brother, joining gangs.

This is a good enough book, but unfortunately I found the translation, by Jenna Johnson, to be distracting. I don’t read French, but I have enough experience with translation, translating and reading translations that you just know when one brings you out of what you are reading. I understand – there clearly was a lot of slang in the original. That’s a difficult translating situation, because it’s a fine line between trying to translate the connotation versus trying to translate the exact meaning. I wish I had saved better examples, but this is the one I pulled out:

“He got caught in a vicious circle, that’s all, what can you do?” (101)

Now, before you leave a comment to tell me that that is a perfectly acceptable phrase in English, I really didn’t realize that people said a “vicious circle”, instead of cycle! That may seem like a small thing, but it really pulled me out of the text when I was reading it. Then I saw the Wikipedia article and realized that this is my mistake. So is this regionally based? Or just a gap in my knowledge of idioms?

But this wasn’t the only time the translation distracted me. I think the deeper I get into this project, like the Comic-A-Week project, the more I’ll be able to point out what specifically makes a good translation and what makes a bad one. I wouldn’t call this a bad translation, but it was one that had a lot of challenges and one that could have certainly been better.

All in all, this was a pleasant, informative start to this project. The whole point is to learn about the world through literature and I certainly learned a lot about Algeria and what it is like to be an Algerian immigrant in France. I also imagine that I will pick up Faïza Guène’s books in the future.

So go read this!: now | tomorrow | next week | next month | next year | when you’ve read everything else

Literary License also has a post about Some Dream for Fools. Do you? Link to it in the comments and I’ll add it here.

5 thoughts on “Read the World (1) – Some Dream for Fools – Faïza Guène

  1. I’ve always said vicious circle.

    I’ve been thinking I should tag my GoodReads books by country, as a way to keep track of my world reading. But the thought of going back and tagging is overwhelming.

    And bummer about the translation…this one sounded promising.

  2. What a great project! A few years ago I was pretty good about reading books from other countries but then I stopped paying attention.

    I do wonder a lot about translations, though. What makes a good one and how you know whether it’s bad writing or bad translating. Or can you even comment on the author’s writing when technically it’s translated anyway? Huh.

  3. I looove this project!! I’ve been wanting to read a book from every country…I even tried to compile a list but then got distracted! I will definitely be looking to your list for new reads! Enjoy your many journeys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

