Comic-a-Week – Jan 2-8 – The Night Bookmobile

You’ve seen a lot of reviews of this one the past week and I’m not exactly sure why all of us decided to read this one at the same time.  I picked mine up from the library on a whim, after hearing a couple of bloggers express how much they loved it.

I love Audrey Niffenegger.  Like many people, Time Traveler’s Wife is one of my favorite books.  Beyond the fact that it is a lovely book, it is also one of the first books that my boyfriend recommended to me.  It marks the beginning of our relationship and will forever hold a special place in my heart.  While Her Fearful Symmetry left me somewhat disappointed and conflicted, I enjoyed reading it and I absolutely loved parts of it.  I’ve also read The Three Incestuous Sisters, Niffenegger’s other comic, and I enjoyed that one as well, though I didn’t really have a strong reaction to it either way.  The Night Bookmobile produced a reaction in me similar to Her Fearful Symmetry – there were parts that I loved, but others that left me feeling somewhat cold toward the book.

For one, the concept behind this comic is perfect.  The idea that each person has their own library with each book they have read and started to read  stored in a vehicle of sorts.  Alexandra, after fighting with her boyfriend and walking alone at night to clear her head, encounters her library and quickly becomes obsessed with it.  Secondly, the art is lovely and adds to the mystery and fantasy of the story.  It was short and sweet, with a memorable conclusion.

But a significant part of that conclusion really upset me, not because of what happened, but because of how abrupt it was.  Of course, I do not want to spoil anything, so I’m being purposefully vague.  It is a shocking turn of events that I honestly found difficult to understand.  I really wanted to love this book unreservedly, because the idea is so bookish and wonderful, but I just couldn’t.

I don’t necessarily want to deter anyone from reading this comic.  It really is wonderful for most of the time.  Apparently it is a part of a series that Niffenegger will be continuing in the future and I sincerely hope that as a whole the series is as lovely as the majority of The Night Bookmobile was.

So go read  this!: now | tomorrow | next week | next month | next year | when you’ve exhausted your TBR

1330V, Bart’s Bookshelves, The Written World, nomadreader, Reader’s Corner, Words and Peace and Stuff As Dreams Are Made On all feature posts about The Night Bookmobile.  Did you?  Leave a link in the comments and I’ll include it in this list.

17 thoughts on “Comic-a-Week – Jan 2-8 – The Night Bookmobile

  1. Even though I kind of wish I knew what you were talking about I appreciate you being vague. 😉 I’ve only seen one teaser post for this one (apparently I do live under a rock), but I’m definitely intrigued. The premise sounds like one every book lover could relate to in some way or another which is why you’re probably seeing all the reviews and my guess will continue to. I have Her Fearful Symmetry on the shelf but for some reason am not in a huge hurry. This sounds much more interesting!!

    The end. 😉

    1. It was just one of those weird occasions where 4 or 5 blogs I follow were reading it, but maybe not anywhere else haha. I wasn’t in a huge hurry with Her Fearful Symmetry and even though I was slightly disappointed when I read it, there were a lot of things I loved about it.

  2. I definitely want to read the rest of the series to see what happens next. The twist did shock me , so I read the book twice. I think I understand a little why she did what she did, but Niffenegger doesn’t tell us enough of the character’s past so that we can understand it.

  3. Arrrgh. I was incredibly disappointed with Her Fearful Symmetry, though, like you, there were parts which I loved and which still haunt me today. I think perhaps i should take a bash at either the three incestuous sisters or this one…I’m wondering which you prefer of the two?

  4. I’ve had ads on Goodreads pop up for this one constantly and kept thinking, “Wow, what a perfect book for book lovers!” Not always astute, I never realized it was a comic. Sorry to hear about its strange turn of events . . . hate when that happens and otherwise spoils a great story! I’ll probably borrow this one from the library sometime, too.

    1. Meg, I think you will like this one. Though I kind of hope you have the same reaction to it that I did so we can talk about it 😉

  5. Is it bad that I’m much more curious about a book from a review like this, which expresses displeasure with an undisclosed spoilery aspect of the book, than from a review that expresses great joy with an undisclosed spoilery aspect of the book? :p

    1. Not at all! I actually wrote a post about that a while back and it’s probably one of my more popular posts to date. I secretly hope that this kind of review will make people read the book, so we can all talk about it!

  6. I saw Audrey Niffenegger at the Iowa City Book Festival back in August and was surprised to hear her talk about her art and comics. I was pretty intrigued but I’ve never gone after them. I like the idea of this one so far– anything bookish is worth a shot in my opinion.

  7. I read this book recently and enjoyed it enough to discuss it with a friend, but I did feel like it needed a few more pages to adjust to the ending. If it turns out to be a series, I’d read the next one.

Leave a Reply

