On this day, a blog was born.

My very first blog banner!

Please forgive my irreverence, but today is a special day! On this day, in 2008 (2008?!) I was home from college and bored out of my mind, because I had nothing to read.  So I got on the internet to look for books to check out from the library and what did I find?  A book blog.  I knew, immediately, that my floundering, sad, pitiful little blog had found just what it needed – a community.  So on that fateful day in December, I wrote a new introductory post and wrote comments on all of your blogs, introducing myself.  And people commented back.  Oh my, it was  a beautiful thing.

Yes, I probably broke 1000 rules of blog etiquette, but you all still welcomed me with open, loving arms.  The face of my little blog has changed since then, but the idea remains the same. Read good books and talk about them – that’s why we’re here, right?  And hopefully, that’s why we’ll be here for many years to come.

Thank you, all of you, for making Regular Rumination such an amazing place. Thank you for being honest, for being kind, for being the least bit interested in what I have to say.  I can’t believe it has been two years, but here’s to many more!

33 thoughts on “On this day, a blog was born.

  1. I remember that first comment of yours introducing yourself so clearly 😀 I think it was at Chris’ blog that I first saw it. Happy blogging anniversary, Lu! Getting to know you has been a pleasure. Here’s to many more years!

    1. LOL I’m such a dork. I think back to those comments and I’m so embarrassed! Eva told me last year that she remembers when I introduced myself on her blog, too. Thanks for being such a big part of my blogging life, Ana 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Lu, and here’s to many more rewarding years of book blogging for you! P.S. Look forward to hearing more about your master’s thesis one of these days, too.

    1. Me too! You haven’t heard much about it because I haven’t started it yet. I took this semester off to go to Spain, so I will start it up in the Spring semester in January.

  3. I’m so happy I discovered your blog through the PoC Reading Challenge (I think that’s how I discovered you at least…). Wowzers 2 years?! That’s amazing, congratulations!!!! Looking forward to seeing what Regular Rumination does next 😀

    1. I sent my blog some posts! For the new year. Me?! Scheduling posts? It’s a Christmas/blogiversary/New Year miracle! Thanks Steph for being such a big part of my blogging community 😀

Leave a Reply

