Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Whenever I sit down and review a book like this, I can’t do it.  How do I explain to you what the experience of reading this series is like if you haven’t read it?  I can’t, but I guess it’s my job to try.

This is a series of books that doesn’t stop moving from the very first page.  It can be overwhelming at times and I know some people have complained about the pace of these books.  There’s rarely a chance to come up to breathe.  Though I myself wasn’t disappointed with Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, a lot of people were and this just might be the perfect antidote.

Ness never makes things easy for Todd and Viola.  I don’t want to ruin this for anyone who hasn’t read the rest of the series, but it will break your heart over and over again.  I have shed more than a few tears reading this series.

Is it really over?  I can’t believe it.  There’s definitely more room for Ness to return to this world.  Maybe not with Todd and Viola, but with other characters on the same planet.  I hope he does.  I’m not ready to leave it.

We get the perspective of another character in this book and it is perfect.  This series is so unbelievably innovative and original.  I’m just at a loss for words right now.  This book is amazing, this series is perfect.  Read it.

Like many reviews of this book have done, let me just point you straight to Nymeth’s review.  How she manages to be so articulate about the Chaos Walking series I will never know, but it might be one of the best reviews of a book I’ve ever read.  Just like this series is one of the best I’ve ever read.  So you know, what are you waiting for?

10 thoughts on “Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

  1. I think I’m still at a loss of words for this series and I finished it months ago :p Just so damn good. And I miss that world so much. And those characters. I grew to love them so much…so damn much. And yeah, you’re so right about Ana’s review of these. She really did knock it out of the ballpark with these reviews!!

  2. Yay for MoM. Yes, I am calling it MoM. It’s appropriate for you :p. Also, AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, I just had a herzattacke thinking about how much adrenaline I went through while reading this book.

Leave a Reply

