Happy Birthday to…

Happy birthday to… ME.

The birthday girl, 21 years ago.

Yes, blogland, today I am 22.

So I thought I would write 22 things I would like to accomplish in my 23rd year.  Some of them are big goals, some of them are simple, all of them are important.  In no particular order:

1. Write a 150 page minimum thesis about Roberto Bolaño. Let’s start big, right?  This is going to have to happen this year, no matter what!

2. Travel to a part of the USA I have never visited before. Going to Spain and talking to folks made me realize just how little of my own country I’ve really seen.

3. Keep reading amazing books.  I’m not too worried about this one.

4. Embrace all the changes in my life instead of being stressed out by them.  Things have already started changing in my life and I can’t let it always stress me out.  Things are always going to change, but I should accept those changes as exciting opportunities, not terrifying moments.

5. Move to a new city.  This is another one that’s probably inevitable this year, but more than just move to a new city, I want to make that new city my own.  I’m going to live it and love it and find all the fabulous things about it.

6. Write more.  Though I haven’t officially started working on my NaNoWriMo project, maybe that will get me going on this one.

7. Keep maintaining a healthy lifestyle. I’m really proud of myself – I have managed to maintain a gym membership and have kept trying hard to eat well.  I’m definitely not going to let that taper off in my 23rd year.

8. Cook more! Always cook extra to freeze.  I love cooking, I just need to plan ahead a little better and find the time to really cook what I love.  I want to buy less frozen food and prepared food and begin cooking naturally.

9. Read more of the books I have on my shelves. They’re getting overwhelming and I need to read more before I acquire more.  I can’t rely so much on my library until these books are read!

10.  Clean more.  I should donate things I don’t use anymore, like all the clothing I have that I do not wear.  Also, anyone who knows me well knows that I’m more than a little bit messy.  I’m going to spend this year trying to change that.  I’ll make my bed every day.  (Maybe.)

11.  Refinish this old dining room chair I have in my room.  My dad gave it to me from his old dining room set and right now it’s pretty ugly and a little bit broken, but I have some grand ideas for it that just might involve crochet and purple paint.

12. Learn how to sew, better. I know the basics of sewing and can sew some very simple things, but I have a sewing machine and I want to learn how to use it to make my own clothes and gifts.

13. Finish my granny square blanket.  I started crocheting a blanket before I left for Spain and I’m determined to finish it this year.

14. Enjoy every minute of my life. Sometimes we all need a reminder to enjoy the life we have.  I am guilty of spending too much time thinking about the future and what’s going to happen that I miss what is happening.

15. Keep up Regular Rumination.  I think I let my blog slip a little this past summer and I’d like to keep it up a little bit better.  I need to figure out what is working and what isn’t.

16. Start a food blog.  Notice I didn’t say maintain or keep up with or successfully start a food blog, but I have always wanted a food blog, even if it is just a way to get me cooking more.

17. Make a photo light box.  I want to have more professional looking photographs for this blog and my potential food blog.

18. Save some money.  It’s time to start building a savings if I can, especially if I’m going to be moving to a new city.

19. Start learning another language.  I ran into people in Europe who spoke at least a little bit of more than 3 languages.  I speak 2 languages, and I have studied 3 (other than English), but two of those languages I can barely say hello in.  I want to have a somewhat working knowledge of third language.  I’m thinking German.

20. Never take my loved ones for granted.  I have an amazing family, amazing friends and an amazing boyfriend.  I need to keep telling them that they are the best thing in my life and that I appreciate them every day.

21. Start collecting furniture.  This one is also related to moving to a new city.  I need to start building a collection of kitchen supplies and furniture.

22. Don’t be afraid.  Sometimes I’m timid, shy or nervous about myself and the decisions I make.  I need to own them.  I need to stand up for myself and not be so afraid of making mistakes.

So what does a book blogger do on her birthday?  Offer a present to her loyal readers!  I will be giving away two books today.  If you leave a comment on this post, you will automatically be entered in the giveaway.  First place winner gets first choice, second place winner gets whatever is left over!  I’ll draw a winner during Sunday Salon! Your book choices are:

  • The Double by José Saramago
  • The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon

Good luck! 🙂

19 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to…

  1. Happy, happy birthday, Lu! 😀 I love your goals, and for all of our sakes I’m happy that keeping up your blog is one of them 😉 I hope you have a lovely day!

  2. Happy, Happy Birthday, Ms. Lu!! I hope today is magical and that the year ahead is filled with lots of love and laughter (and good books!). I loved reading your goals list–can’t wait to see you check them off one by one!

  3. Happy Birthday, Lu! That is a wonderful list of goals you have set for yourself. That thesis idea is exciting and brilliant but I think number 4 is my favorite.

  4. Happy birthday, lady! What a good idea – I’m coming up on 30 and this kind of list really appeals to me as a way to mark the occasion. It feels so good to take stock and get some direction with goals and values. I hope you have a righteous day and an amazing year!

  5. Hi Lu! Happy birthday, and what great goals you’ve got! Good luck getting every single one of them done!

    (Please don’t enter me in the contest. I’m trying not to acquire anything!)

  6. Make your bed! Happy Birthday a day late on your blog even though I told you in other forums also on this train of thought while creating one huge-ass sentence, did you receive something in the mail also also when will i see you?

    p.s. you do not need to enter me into your giveaway because that would be cheating… kinda. anywho, yes 🙂

  7. Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a fantastic birthday! That’s a great list of goals (except for the making of the bed…it’s kind of pointless when you think about it).

    Okay, I probably shouldn’t be discouraging you from your goals. Good luck with them!

  8. Happy birthday Lu! I was just reading that people who are goal-oriented often are successful in getting what they want; and here you have a great list of goals. I wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

