TSS – That book you never thought you’d read, and then you did, and then you felt kind of rude.

SO.  Let’s back up this Sunday just a little bit to last Sunday.  I was hanging out with my sisters, which doesn’t happen very often so it was exciting.  K the Older (15) and I share a love of reading and I’m constantly trying to steer her reading in my direction: less trashy YA, more thoughtful YA!  And so far it has worked.  She’s reading The Hunger Games, Going Bovine, Paper Towns.  Yes!  .  So when I went up to visit last weekend and I saw she was reading Pretty Little Liars, I groaned and we had a conversation that went something like this:

Me: Why are you reading that trash!

K the Older: First of all, it’s not trash.  Second of all, shut up, I’m reading.

Aannnnd that was the end of the conversation.  K definitely didn’t care that I was calling her book trashy because shewas enjoying it immensely and I admit, I didn’t even know what the book was about.  Where did this prejudice come from against a book that I really know nothing about?  Is it the Barbie-like doll on the cover?  Is it the title?  Is it the fact that it’s been made into a TV show a la Gossip Girl, another book that is filed under trash in my mind?  I don’t know, but I’m writing this Sunday Salon post to tell you – I’m eating my words.

Flash forward to one day this week, I’m waiting for something and I need a book to read.  After a quick search through my car, I realize the only books in my car are a stack K the Older left in there after I dropped her off at her mom’s house – all the Pretty Little Liars books.  So, I think to myself, “What the hell, Lu.  K likes it, read it.”

So I read it.  Yeah, I loved it.

Now I feel like a complete jerk.  I hate being judged for the books I love, but I was doing the same thing to my sister.  No, not every book is for everyone.  At the same time, did I have to call Pretty Little Liars trash without knowing anything about it?  Absolutely not.   I’m about 50 pages from the end, but so far Pretty Little Liars is funny, suspenseful and, sure, a little unbelievable, but I’m turning the pages like there’s no tomorrow and I can’t wait to give you a full review.   There’s nothing like Pretty Little Liars to bring out the last bit of beach-read goodness of summer.  So thanks, sister, you made me remember to be less of a jerk.  You reminded me that I don’t like it when people judge my books without reading them, so why on earth would I judge someone else’s?  You never know when a book is going to surprise you and Pretty Little Liars did just that.  Look for a full review to find out why later this week.

24 thoughts on “TSS – That book you never thought you’d read, and then you did, and then you felt kind of rude.

  1. I don’t know about the books of Gossip Girl, but the show is seriously trashy. You are not mistaken on that front. It is trashy with a capital T. But yay for you for giving a real chance to a book you thought you would not enjoy! I don’t do enough of that, I’m afraid. :p

    1. Haha, well I’ll avoid that one then. Pretty Little Liars has some trashy in it, don’t get me wrong, but in a fun/guilty pleasure kind of way.

  2. Yes, I’m susceptible to the same kind of judge-a-book-by-its-genre-ism.

    For example, I love children’s picture books. You should see the number of people who turn up their noses at children’s picture books.

    They just don’t know what they are missing.

    If you haven’t read it, I’d suggest Skellig for you and/or your sister. Fantastic read.

    1. I have read Skellig, but my sister has not! I will have to pass that one on. I loved Skellig when I was her age, I think she would too.

  3. I haven’t read the books but I am hooked on the television show. It’s a little out there, but I really like the dialogue. I was sick, watched a marathon day and am now hooked.

    Also, don’t feel so bad for judging a type of book. I think that we naturally do that all the time. You’re just owning up to it. 🙂

    1. I watched the first episode tonight, and yup, I have to finish up through book 3 so I can watch the rest of season 1. Definitely addictive!

  4. My son read the Gregor books a couple years ago and I thought they were violent and trashy. Then he picked the first one for me for our book club last year, and I found out they were the very opposite of what I thought. I went from hating that he liked those books and considering taking them away, to really loving them. It’s amazing what our prejudices can lead to.

  5. I totally judge books by their covers all the time, so you are not alone my friend. Do you think you’ll start watching the television show based on the books now that you are a fan?

    Also, I saw that my library has these available for download so maybe I should make Tony read these for our next YA read-aloud… 😉

  6. I never thought I’d read this series either, but I heard the author on a panel last week at the Brooklyn Book Festival and I think I may just have to try it.

  7. I jude a book by it’s cover all the time and like others said it is a gut reaction when I see what I think is a “trashy” book. I will have to check out Pretty Little Liars since I had the same gut reaction that you did.

  8. I’ll totally cop to really enjoy Pretty Little Liars, too! I read the first one earlier this year (or last year? Can’t remember) and found it funny, interesting and very addictive. I watched the first episode of the TV show, too, and was surprised how much of the first book they crammed into a single episode. I guess there are so many books, there’s plenty of material to work with!

  9. LOL! Isn’t it bittersweet when you eat your own words? I do that with my sister (older) too because she tends towards the bodice ripping Scottish highlands books. But every now and then she surprises me with a good book. Here’s to sisters!

  10. I did this with Harry Potter of all things. When we were in our last year of high school, my friend J read and loved the entire series. My friend M and I mocked her for it.

    Fast forward a year. M and I both read the books, and we were forced to eat our words.

  11. I’ve never heard of these books… but I might have to give them a try! I bash chick-lit all the time but then every once in awhile I like one of them. Who knew? Oh well, humble pie is served daily, you just never know when it’s your turn to take a slice.

Leave a Reply

