Future Treasures

The last day of BBAW is here and you know what that means, right?  I have to actually start reading books again!  Ha!  Well, more than that, it’s the time to reflect on what we loved about the past week and what we hope for the future.  I thought I would look back to last year and see what I wrote on that Friday in September.  Did I fulfill my goals?  Um, well, no.  I didn’t write a post last year and for some reason that doesn’t bode well for what’s going to come out of this post.

Why didn’t I write a post last year?  I know that I loved BBAW and I would have wanted to tell you that.  I have a feeling it doesn’t have anything to do with that, but rather the fact that I hate to disappoint myself.  So if I set the standard low, then I’ll always surpass myself!

Right?

Well, yes, but is that really enough?  No.  So I have a simple goal, one that I’ve been talking about off and on since my New Year’s Resolutions.  It’s one that is reflected in the new quote on my header:

And this is our life, exempt from public haunt,
finds tongues in trees, books in the running brooks,
sermons in stones, and good in everything.  (As You Like It II.i.1-17)

Shakespeare’s right, there really is good in everything.  My goal is simply to find that good.  It can be so easy to get bogged down in obligation and commitment that we forget what is really joyful about life.  That’s all I want to do in the coming year, find the good and joy in everything I do.  Sometimes I get frustrated with blogging, just like everyone else.  I get frustrated with myself.  I think, “I’m not doing enough.  I don’t write enough posts, I don’t read enough books, I don’t comment on enough blogs.  I don’t have enough followers!”  I have to remember, I am doing enough.  I am doing what I can and that is plenty.   Most of all, remember to be amazed by all the people who are following my blog.  When I remember to stop worrying about the number of followers I have compared to other bloggers, I am completely amazed by how many followers I do have.  There are people out there who believe enough in what I say that they want to be alerted whenever I post.  How unbelievable is that?  Sometimes this feels like a dream.

Thank you, BBAW, for reminding me about all the good in book blogging, of all the joy of finding a new blog, a new friend, or rediscovering an old friend.  Thank you to everyone who has commented on my blog this week, new and old.  I am so grateful for you and everything this blog has brought into my life.

14 thoughts on “Future Treasures

  1. Beautiful post, Lu! And a great reminder for all of us. Blogging doesn’t tend to be the place where I feel like I’m “not doing enough,” but oh there are others. Good to take a step back and accept the level of activity that’s right for each of us. 🙂

  2. That’s a lovely goal Lu! The last couple of months have made me lose the guilt about not being able to post sometimes, and I’m loosening up about comment stress too. 😀 Also, I wouldn’t want my blog any bigger than it is right now!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog. As I read your post I am reminded of the quote, “Life is a journey. Enjoy the journey, the destination will come.” It may not be verbatim but I say to you to always try to have fun writing your post. Best wishes to you.

  4. “I have to actually start reading books again!”

    My thoughts exactly! I read so little this week. And I worry about not writing enough posts, BBAW has been the first time I think I’ve posted every day for a while. But then there are blogs that post every day already and if everyone did it there would be too many blog posts to read. Those that post less I find I appreciate more.

  5. I get down a lot when it comes to blogging–especially the last few months as the new blog has kind of struggled to take form and I lost so many readers from the old blog, but you’re right–you have to count the blessing you have, not wallow over the ones you don’t. Besides, I don’t have time to spend as much time blogging as others do (nor do I want to honestly). Life is too short to fret. 🙂

    So, I hope you find the good. There’s lots of it!!

Leave a Reply

