TSS – 1 August 2010

Okay, nothing is going right this morning.

WordPress was down.  Now the Sunday Salon badge is NOT working.  But you guys know what it looks like.

Nothing is going right in the reading department either, unfortunately.  I was definitely digging Her Fearful Symmetry and then… I left my book at work.  I forgot to get it again on Friday and now I have spent the whole weekend without it.  But I am seriously loving it, so I can’t wait to get back to it on Monday.

So instead, I started reading Fire Study.  Now please, step in here and say, “But Lu!  You never posted a review of Magic Study!  Why are you holding out on us like that?”

Because I never read it.  I thought Fire Study was the second book in the series, but it is not.  It is the third.  The whole time I was reading it I kept thinking, “Wow!  That’s a weird decision to just start the book after so much time has passed. Why would Snyder decide to do that.”  Um, unfortunately it didn’t click until 100 pages into the book.  Now I don’t even want to continue reading the series.  I’m so bummed out.  Dear publishers: PLEASE make it clear the order of a series.  Nothing is worse than reading books out of order.

I did read the graphic novel The Color of Water today and I liked it, but not as much as The Color of Earth.  It definitely suffered from second book syndrome.  It really just felt like a connector between The Color of Earth and The Color of Heaven. I’m looking forward to reading the third and final book in the series.  Fortunately I read them in order.

I hope your reading goes a bit smoother than mine did.  Happy Sunday and Happy August 1st!

14 thoughts on “TSS – 1 August 2010

  1. I hate reading things out of order! I once picked up a later book in a series thinking it was next, and the first paragraph spoiled the fact that a character had died in the previous book! Ugh!

  2. Ugh, I hate reading books out of order too! How hard would it be to put a list at the front of the book with the preceding books in the series? Or you know, even put that information on the front cover à la: Fire Study, that 3rd book in the Study series… See! Not hard at all!

  3. Wow, that sounds like a lot of bookish irritation! Hoping you found another book to brighten your Sunday. BTW, laughed at your tweet earlier today about your Dad eating the pasta salad. Crap day all around? Happy reading (when you get your hands on the right books)!

  4. *hugs* I hope your day got better, Lu!!! I’m so with you as far as series order goes!!! I wish the damn publishers would make it abundantly clear on the covers what the order of the series is. I hate when you have to research it to figure out how to read it. Glad you’re enjoying HFS 😀 I thought you would!! Hope this doesn’t go to spam!! :p

  5. Grr, reading books out of order! I agree that that’s infinitely frustrating and disappointing, and since that effectively spoils the whole series for you… yes, why continue?

    Hope your Monday has been much, much better! I’m looking forward to your review of Her Fearful Symmetry, too; have that one waiting patiently in my bookcase.

  6. I don’t know if I’ve ever read books out of order before but I can imagine it would be incredibly frustrating. What I really hate is finishing a book and then finding out it’s a series so there is a cliffhanger ending!

Leave a Reply

