TSS – 18 July 2010

I always think of summer as the finish line.  I am done with school, I have countless hours to read by the pool, on the beach, or just on my couch in the air conditioning.  Every winter and spring this is my mantra – just get to summer, you’ll be reading more then.  But the truth of the matter is that I never read more in the summer than I do in the winter and I always end up baffled by why this is.  I suppose it’s really not so complicated though.

This summer, I have the first full time job of my entire life.  I don’t think I noticed because the job I had last summer was so mentally demanding that it felt full time and I often ended up working from home when I wasn’t in the office.  This summer my job is so much fun, though occasionally stressful, and even though I’m working really long hours, I love it.  I come home and by the time I work out, eat dinner, spend some time with the people I love, I’m exhausted.  I end up going to bed around 10:30 every night, with little time for anything else.  This doesn’t leave much time for reading, unfortunately.

I have found a little time each day to pick up a book though, so I am reading, just slowly. In the mornings I read Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier while work is very quiet for half an hour.  After 7, all the kids arrive and I can no longer read until I get home.  Usually I try to read some more in the day, but some days it just doesn’t happen.  And you know?  I’m totally okay with that.  I don’t really have anymore blogging commitments now that my round of Nerds Heart YA is up and I’ve just been enjoying the leisurely reading.  It’s really what summer is supposed to be, right?  Nothing telling me what to read or when to read, just the pleasure of reading what I want when I get a few minutes.

You know what I have missed though?  Continuously blogging.  With no books to review, I’ve struggled to come up with posts that fit into Regular Rumination.  Though I have not shied away from writing about my personal life here in the past, the posts I’ve wanted to write simply haven’t fit into what I have created as Regular Rumination’s standard.  I know that I could change that in an instant, but honestly I really felt like for the posts I wanted to write I needed another blog.  I used to write in a journal daily, but have lost that as the years went on.  Now I have started a new blog, it is called At the Bridges and it will be a completely personal blog.  If you’re at all interested, I’d love for you to stop by.

Starting At the Bridges was greatly inspired by an email I received a week or so ago from Vicki at So Very Vicki.  She had really enjoyed my letter to Elizabeth Strout that I used as a review for Olive Kitteridge and asked if she could reprint it (with credit, of course).  At first I was wary, it seemed like a strange request!  But I thought, let’s check out Vicki’s blog and see.  I loved it!  It was a complete and total inspiration.  She is wonderful and the things she posts about are simply divine.  (One of my favorite words is joy too, Vicki!)  The things that Vicki had to say about Regular Rumination and my review of Olive Kitteridge were so amazing to hear.  She’s really wonderful, so please go check out her blog!

I made it my goal at the beginning of the year to find the simple, joyful things in life every day.  With school and exams and commuting, that was difficult and I eventually gave up on that.   Vicki has inspired me to start that over again.  I really feel like I should record the wonderful things that are happening, and even the not so wonderful ones, so I have them somewhere.  Everyone needs to be reminded now and again that there is joy in this world and we encounter it every day.  I won’t lie, I have my melancholy moods, but slowly reminding myself to enjoy what is beautiful about each day has been remarkable the past few days.

So enjoy your summer reading and enjoy the wonderful things that life has to offer!

12 thoughts on “TSS – 18 July 2010

  1. Great post! I think I need to find my very own Vicky 😉
    Like you, whenever I read less I have a hard time coming up with things to post about.

  2. I’m so excited about your new blog 😀 About to head over there!! I do the same thing, Lu…every summer actually finds me reading LESS. Not that things change much for me anymore in the summers, but even when I was still in school the same thing happened. I think the reason for it now is that I just get so worn out by the heat that my moods go down and I just don’t want to do anything :/

  3. Hey There, Ms. Lu! Thanks for the kind words! I think you’re the bee’s knees, for sure! And congrats on the new blog–I’ve already been by to check it out! Yahoo! Just keep writing and writing–you are a woman who definitely has a lot of good things to share. I’m so glad our paths have crossed! XO, Vicki

    PS I read “Love is the Higher Law,” per your recommendation. It was a great read!

  4. Congrats on rediscovering your blogging mojo in whatever form works best, Lu! And good luck on the full-time job…I’ve had lots of them, but whenever I go from non-traditional/unstructured schedule to full-time work, it’s always a rough few months.

  5. I just started my full time job, and it’s been hard to figure out how to adjust from a student to an adult schedule. I’ve taken to getting up early in the morning to squeeze in some reading, and then at lunch if I can get away from my desk. It’s tough adjusting, and with summer I want to be outside enjoying the weather too!

  6. Whenever I work full-time, I start finding myself with less time for reading and blogging. It’s always an adjustment, but I always try to think if I’d rather be a student again. And I wouldn’t, so that’s something I remind myself of when I’m getting a bit blue about not enough reading time. I try to fit reading in around the edges of other things.

Leave a Reply

