Sunday Salon – Back ups.

There used to be a time in my life when I read only one book at a time and I finished every single book I read.  There were no DNFs, ever.  Unless I lost the book or had to return it to the library before I finished it, I was determined to read a whole book no matter how long it took me or how much I hated it.  I have since changed my ways.  Now I might be reading several books at once and if a book doesn’t keep my interest, I will gladly put it away and try again later (or get rid of it for good!).  I love having options when I’m reading.  If a book just isn’t doing it for me, but I think it’s something I’ll want to return to, I put it in a pile and it becomes a back up.

Sometimes I go straight back to the back up after a short break, but I have a small collection of books that are good, but don’t always keep my interest for long.  I don’t want to quit them, but I don’t seem to want to read them for extended periods of time.  When the mood strikes me, I pick them up right where I left off and haven’t had too much trouble remembering what’s going on. I  have two back ups that I’ve been reading for over six months in one case, and closer to 8 months in another.  One is The Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler and the other is Looking for Alaska by John Green.  Both are fine books and I like reading them, but I also like having them in progress.  I like having them there to read when I need them and I don’t really feel the need to  finish them anytime soon.

What about you?  Do you keep a couple back up books around?

______________________________________________________________________

Quick question!  I really want a great fantasy or science fiction series to read.  All kinds of fantasy and science fiction series, but I’ve really been in the mood for one and haven’t found a great one.  I appreciate it!

16 thoughts on “Sunday Salon – Back ups.

  1. I’ve never had a back-up book. I do tend to read a single book until I’m finished, though these days I’m better about putting down a book I’m not that into.

    As for a series – have you read Megan Whalen Turner’s series that starts with THE THIEF? I finished book 2 not long ago and I’m really loving the series.

  2. I strongly second Lenore’s recommendation of Megan Whalen Turner. I just read the series this past month and was surprised at how madly I loved it.

  3. Lu, have you read The Cosmic Trilogy by CS Lewis? The books are: Out of the Silent Planet, Perelandra, and That Hideous Strength.

    I do have back-up books, but not in the way you use them. I’m very monogamous in my reading. But sometimes when I’m reading an extremely long book (like Proust) or a collection of stories, I’ll have a short back-up book on hand for reading in between those. But then the back-up books usually get read throughout. When done with the back-up, will continue with the original longer book. They serve as breathers.

  4. Oh gosh. I can have multiple books going and such, but if it takes me longer than 3 weeks to read a book, I start getting antsy and have to spend all my time with it or put it away. I can’t drag a book out for months like that!

  5. I used to never have more than one book in my hands. And now, I have multiple going on. I don’t know if this makes me happy or frustrated. LOL. It generally happens by accident – I’m reading something on my Kindle because it’s easy to transport and I’m too lazy to bring my heavy book from home around and then oh-my (!) my Kindle’s battery dies, but that’s okay because I have a collection of essays in my purse…you see how it happens? 😀

    I feel like I’m reading more, but I don’t know if I’m reading as thoroughly (which is where the frustration comes in hand). I like to make notes about what I’m reading because I’m really bad about writing the review directly after reading the book. Is that just me?

  6. I go through stages where I have back-up books. Right now I don’t, but there have been times when I’ll 2 or 3 around. I’m currently in a monogamous relationship with my books. Well, it’s more like serial monogamy. 😀

  7. I use poetry books as back-ups, since I don’t have to keep track of plots, etc., and can easily pick one up, read a poem or two, and put it back for weeks or even months with no damage done. Right now I’m sloooooowly making my way through Petrarch and a John Ashbery collection.

  8. I have a ton of backup books! There’s an Anne Fadiman essay collection, The Grapes of Wrath (which I’m determined to read this summer), and Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde along with a ton of short story collections which are perfect backups.

    Have you read the Fables series by Bill Willingham? It’s fantasy and graphic novels.

    1. Vasilly: I am reading the Fables series and love it. I might have to check out the Audre Lorde Sister Outsider, I’ve heard great things about her.

  9. Have you tried George R. R. Martin’s A Song In Ice and Fire series? Start with A Game of Thrones, and if you don’t like it, I’ll be hornswaggled. Whatever that is. 🙂

    I’m not normally an avid fantasy reader, but I LOVED it! Went and bought the rest of the series on eBay after reading the first, not that I’ve finished them all.

  10. If you haven’t, please please try Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes. I read it earlier this year and loved it so much. It’s sort of scifi, but some people are surprised it’s categorized as so. Interesting about the backup books. I think mine is probably nonfiction or short stories, but I don’t think I can use novel as backup book, as I may forget the flow of the narration if left for too long period of time.

  11. I have a tendency to start books and, if I feel they are too overwhelming or frustrating, I’ll put them down for a month or two or twelve. I’ve been reading Savage Grace for about a year and a half, but I can’t seem to make it past the middle point. I rented the movie, which was good but not fantastic, so that might have something to do with my lack of enthusiasm. I do intend on completing it but I won’t hold my breath in anticipation. It’s actually a very good book; the format is what kept my attention in the first place.

    Nice to “meet” you! Great blog! I love your header.

  12. I’m pretty much a one-book kind of girl. I forget what’s going on in each book when I try to read more than one at a time. That being said, I do like to keep a non-fiction book on the go as a back-up for when I want to read or need a distraction but don’t have time to get into a story.

    Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld is a pretty good series.

  13. I tend to read more than one book at a time. It usually depends on my mood which book I pick up. I have one book for the commute, which seems to be the book that captures my attention while the other commuters are being obnoxious…and other books for around the house when I have more quiet time.

  14. I do have backups.. sometimes they don’t get looked at for months. I also have started reading a book on my iPod Touch when I am in waiting rooms and such… it takes awhile but then I have something to read and don’t have to haul my book around!

    Have you read The Golden Compass series? I really enjoyed that.

Leave a Reply

