TSS – Losing my reading mojo

I haven’t posted a review since 22 February.

I haven’t finished a book since 21 February.

If I were to put all of the pictures up of the books I’m technically “currently reading” it would be at least 10.  But finishing any of them seems like a monumental task.  I’m overwhelmed with unfinished books.  It’s Spring Break, so I’ve got some heavy reading plans.  Including beginning my reading for Octavio Paz month.  I checked out some books of poetry and have a pretty even mix of books in the original Spanish and the English translation.  Also beginning to read 2666 in Spanish this week for class and another novel for class.  I also have some easy reading, including the next Company novel by Kage Baker.

I just hope I get out of this reading slump soon.

Any tips?

PS. Interested in reading Octavio Paz and other Hispanic authors?  Join me in Exploring American Authors!  This is a readalong in which an author is featured every month and you read as many or as few books by that author as you want.  There’s not even technically a sign-up, but I will post a Mr. Linky at the end of each month where you can post your review.  I will be posting the final list in a couple days, but March is Ocatvio Paz month.

27 thoughts on “TSS – Losing my reading mojo

  1. I checked out Labyrinth of Solitude from the library yesterday, now all I have to do is read it.

    We all find ourselves in reading slumps from time to time. I think it’s just a matter of waiting for the right book to come along and grab you. Which isn’t all that encouraging, but I think the worst things for slumps is forcing yourself to read something you’re not enjoying. Good luck!

  2. That’s horrible! Here’s my suggestion: quit all the books you’re currently reading and start fresh. That helped when I was in my slump. Good luck!

  3. Yes, it is frustrating. Sometimes I stare at the pile & want to scream. Don’t be so hard on yourself: you’re a student with a heavy workload, you’re about to begin a thesis(which requires a mountain of reading all by itself) and you blog. You’re amazing! Sometimes the best thing to do is take a walk, if you can…Good luck!

  4. I echo the advice to not be hard on yourself! Stress and worry only begets more of the same. Take a break, take a walk, find a different book, whatever. 🙂 It’ll come back, and best to you in all the cool stuff you ARE doing!

  5. Sounds like you’ve already got your Paz reading list filled,Lu, but just in case, I wanted to recommend Paz’s The Siren and the Seashell and other Essays on Poets & Poetry. In it Paz writes on various poets including Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz, Ruben Dario, Robert Frost and E.E. Cummings.

    As for the slump…I say forget you were ever in one and just start reading. Sounds like you have some great stuff to look forward to.

    1. Lourdes: I’m not sure which collection I have, but I do have some of his poetry and essays out from the library. I got everything out that Paz had, so we’ll see! Thanks for the rec.

  6. When I lose my reading or knitting mojo it’s usually because I need to shake things up a bit in my life & shift my focus to something new and/or different. Go do something totally different for a few days – play video games…go for a hike…make preserves or bookmarks or something to give away as gifts on all your friends’ birthdays…do something ridiculous like, I don’t know, drop in on a water aerobics class or something. Hope things improve soon! 🙂

  7. When I don’t feel like reading anything else, I usually turn to short stories or really simple nonfiction, like craft books or picture-heavy social histories. Maybe try something that you know you won’t feel the need to engage with?

  8. Toss aside everything that isn’t cutting it. It’s so liberating, plus you can always come back to them later. Read something fun and short. I have a whole stack of library books right now that aren’t grabbing me. I think I’m going to return them and get a different selection. Certain books require certain moods or times of year.

    1. Claire: I think I will just stop after 25 pages from this point on if something isn’t keeping my attention. Doesn’t mean I’ll abandon it forever, but for now.

  9. I’m in a bit of a reading slump too. It is depressing. All I can manage are Georgette Heyer Regency romances – which are charming but I cannot live by them alone.

  10. I just stop thinking about the books and do something else (much like Emily) – yoga, movies, fun with the kids. What usually works for me is throwing a little dinner party for friends. Dinner, wine, great conversation – it all charges my batteries and makes everything right again. Hope the veil lifts soon!

    1. Frances: No reading happened today, but we’ll try again tomorrow. I took everyone’s advice and did other things — played some video games and edited the blog (I was in that kind of mood, lol!)

  11. I hate slumps! I hope that yours ends soon. 🙂 (Have you tried audiobooks? Even when I’m in a total slump, I like listening to them while I’m doing chores-including bloggy chores!)

  12. Everyone goes into a reading slump at some point, so don’t worry, you’ll snap out of it. I find reading short stories or short books helpful as it gives you a little boost when you finish. Good luck!

  13. I’m not in a traditional reading slump. I’m not reading any books that I *want* to read and because my school books are boring the heck out of me, I’m not really reading those, either!

    Anyway, I don’t know what you’re planning to read for Octavio Paz, but I highly recommend In Light of India. The Mexican ambassador poet writing about his time in India? So awesome!

Leave a Reply

