TSS – Small changes

We are one month into the new year and there have been some very subtle changes to Regular Rumination in the new year.  You probably haven’t really noticed them – they’ve been personal goals that I’ve been trying to fulfill slowly and surely.  One small thing I have changed is adding a unique title to each of my posts.  I decided to do that because I really had only two or three titles that I would change slightly.  Such as Review – Title – Author, TSS – Date.  Maybe once in a small while I’d have a uniquely titled post, and honestly I can’t really tell you if it made any difference, but it seems important to have a title that properly evokes what the post is about.  So tell me, does that make a difference when you’re reading a post?  Do you even really notice the titles of blog posts?

I’ve also been trying to make my posts more well-crafted.  This has been a very personal goal over the past month or so.  I became a little disappointed with the overall quality of my reviews.   The writing was less than great and a lot of times I felt like I was just posting to post, even if I didn’t have  a clear idea of what I wanted to say about a book.  It became more important to have a post for you to read than to really spend a lot of time with a post.  Part of the problem is the fact that I have less time when I’m in school, so I would rush to finish a review.  I realize now that I would rather have a well-crafted review than four posts a week.  Maybe that should have been obvious, but to be honest, at the end of last year it really wasn’t.   Maybe if this hasn’t been as noticeable as I think, that’s probably a good thing, but I hope that the quality of my posts is better than it once was.

Well, that’s all for this Sunday.  I have lots of things to think about, but for today I will be reading In the Garden of Iden by Kage Baker and Borderlands/La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldúa for class.  What are you reading?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
12 thoughts on “TSS – Small changes

  1. I don’t mind that you’re changing your titles, though I have to admit I much prefer titles that have the book title and author name in them. They’re easier to search through when I look through my reader to link to other peoples’ reviews. Or if I want to go back to a post I enjoyed and am trying to figure it out based on the titles that aren’t book titles/authors. It’s just hard for me. Not that that should discourage you – it’s just not what I’m used to. 🙂

  2. I’m new to your blog and like the idea of unique title posts (TSS – small changes, etc.), but for reviews it’s easier to search if title and author are included. I’ll look forward to reviews of books you’re reading for class.

  3. I may be a big old nerd but I think your thesis idea sounds fascinating. I’d love to hear what you have to say about the translation. I’ve had The Savage Detectives on the top of my TBR pile for over a year but have yet to read it. Maybe this month…

    A good, unique title will get me to read a blog post. I follow so many blogs that I can’t possibly read all of the posts on all of them. If a title catches my interest I’ll check out the post even if it’s about a book I do not want to read. Otherwise, I’ll read it if the book is one I’m interested in.

    On the other hand, I’ve heard that search engines pay close attention to titles and to frequency of word use. So if someone is searching for information about Jane Eyre, your review is more likely to pop up if the title Jane Eyre or contains Jane Eyre.

    No one is really sure how search engines work. Google keeps this very secret.

    I say…use a catchy title.

  4. I think your posts are very well crafted, I never feel like skimming like them like I do with many other blogs. This is something I’ve been striving to do in my blog as well. I do like to have six posts a week so I’ve been working on getting drafts of posts ahead of schedule so I don’t have to worry about actually writing a post every day.

  5. I have always thought your posts were very well-written and thought-out. Mine always pales in comparison, but I cannot change it as I am not critical by nature and so love reading critiques and gleaning much from them, but my own experience with reading just stems so much out of emotion that I cannot talk about it otherwise. But anyhow, do not for a minute think less of your posts as they have always impressed me. 🙂

    I tried using unique titles before, which I loved, but read comments about how some blog readers get annoyed when they do not know what book exactly that post is about, as you can’t tell by the title, so I went back to putting book titles on my blog post titles. Personally, though, I do not mind at all, and in fact like it.

  6. Hi Lu…enjoyed reading about the goals you’ve set for yourself this year regarding your blog. I agree with cbjames that a unique title will entice someone to read a post.
    As a new blogger I can relate to your goal of wanting quality over quantity when it comes to posting. (unfortunately, I think I’m still in the quantity over quality mode, due to time constraints). But I think you’ve been doing a great job, especially considering you’re busy with grad school.
    A few weeks ago I came across this short article on the subject of Natasha Wimmer and translator’s in general–here’s the link–not getting enough credit for the work they do.
    Your thesis project sounds fascinating. Look forward to your posts about that topic.

  7. I agree with Amanda and gautami. Clear book title and author means it’s easy to search, while otherwise is much harder to notice. In my opinion the first and second sentence are probably the most important for me to continue reading the post, because my google reader shows snippet of the beginning of the post, and if I don’t recognise the book but the beginning is interesting I will continue to read. But that’s just my 2c, and it’s not like I have successfully written great beginnings 😉

  8. I’ve noticed the different titles, and I like it, although I agree with everyone having at least the title of the book in the post title can help people know what they’re reading.

    I was just thinking the other day how well-crafted your reviews seem to be — they start out with a nice clear paragraph about what you think, then go into the summary and specifics. I like that format, I think in part because mine tend to be much more structured.

  9. I have to agree with the others – I like to see the title and author in the title. If you don’t do that then your post will rarely turn up in searches for them, which can be frustrating when looking for an old post.

    I do think your posts are well written though – keep up the good work!

  10. I have 2666 in my TBR and I really want to read it. I feel so unproductive in my reading (and blogging) lately, that right now I feel reluctant to take on a chunkster. I’ll have to think of how I want to approach 2666.

    I actually don’t pay that much attention to titles of blog posts. What helps me (and keeps me reading on) is having a picture at the beginning (a book cover, whatever). One picture is enough for me though. I love your blog no matter what, though.

  11. Lu, I just wanted to say that I really relate to the difficulty of balancing the desire to get a post up, with the urge to spend time crafting and thinking about a post. I struggle with the same thing, but in the end I always end up feeling better about the entries I feel I spent a bit of time crafting. So, in short – great goal. 🙂

    I use book-title-as-post-title because the consistency appeals to my orderly nature, but I think either way is great.

Leave a Reply

