TSS: New York, new books

Good Morning!  I’m trying to wake up, but I’m running slow today.  Hopefully after I get some caffeine in my system I’ll feel a little bit better.   Last week was pretty eventful because I went to New York City!  I’ve been twice before, but each time I’ve gone I’ve done something just a little bit different.  The first time was with my dad right after 9/11 and we went and saw Time Square and the NBC studios and Ground Zero and Central Park.  Then I went last winter to visit a friend of mine who goes to Fordham, but it was raining so we mostly spent time together catching up.  This last time was Z’s Christmas present and the big event was going to Ninja New York!  I really have to thank Beth Revis for this… she talked about Ninja New York in a post a couple weeks ago and I knew that Z would love it.  The restaurant was CRAZY.  Your waiter is a ninja and they do ancient ninja tricks and, to top it all off, the food was AMAZING.  Easily some of the best food I’ve eaten in a restaurant.  The next day we went on a food tour, just getting something small from each place we stopped at. The highlight was a deep fried  toffee bar (seriously, everyone should try this once) and the street food tacos.  They were some of the best tacos I’ve ever eaten.

Outside of food, we did a lot of  walking.  We stuck around Chinatown, Lower East Side and Tribeca for most of the two days and just explored.  Ana suggested  that we go to the Strand bookstore and we did, TWICE.

18 miles of books!  And at super cheap prices!  I got To the Lighthouse and the Mists of Avalon for $5 each.  Plus I got a bag, a tshirt and some buttons!  I loved it and if I lived near by I would never leave.

If I knew any babies, I would buy them one of these:

We took the China Bus up to the city and it was great (cheap!),  except for one little  problem where our bus broke down!  We were only 25 miles outside the city and ended up sitting on the side of the highway for almost 3 hours.  But it was okay,  we were scheduled to arrive around 6 am and got in around 9:30 am.  We didn’t miss too much, just some early morning wandering.

Giveaway: I got an extra button from The Strand, so one lucky reader has the opportunity to win it!  All you have to do is leave a comment and you’re automatically entered in the contest!  I’ll use random.org to pick the winner and announce it next Sunday!

Reviewed last week: Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery, Blankets by Craig Thompson
Read/to be reviewed: The Eternal Smile by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim, Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf, Fables, Vol. 1 by Bill Willingham.

What are you reading this Sunday?  What’s your favorite bookstore?

12 thoughts on “TSS: New York, new books

  1. Yay for The Strand! I love that onesie. I went to an annex of The Strand when I was in NYC. Came upon it randomly. I hadn’t even thought about going to the main store and then my sister and I got off the subway one exit up from Wall Street and there was the annex. I got a bag as well as some book.

    I suppose to might as well enter for the button. 🙂

  2. Happy Sunday – no need to enter me in the contest to win the button; I’m sure another lucky winner will be most appreciative. if that’s OK! I’m glad you had a fun trip to the City!

  3. I have never been to the Strand but I got one of their canvas bags for the holiday swap! I don’t know what my favorite bookstore is. I really like this one in Chicago called The Book Cellar. It serves wine 😉

  4. Oh, The Strand! It’s been decades since I was last there.

    Like softdrink I love Powells in Portland but we have several wonderful stores in Seattle, Eliott Bay Books and The University Book Store (celebrating it’s 110 birthday this weekend!) to name two.

  5. Wow that sounds like fun!!! I so want to go to New York!!! And Ninja New York sounds incredible!! Are you kidding me? A place like that actually exists?! I’ve always wanted to go to The Strand too….seriously, sounds like a book lovers heaven!

  6. We should read Mists of Avalon together because I have my copy with me at the crib.

    Wouldn’t it be funny if i won that button? You would save on shipping. Just kidding, I am not entering because that would be kinda awful lol.

  7. I can’t wait to go to NYC someday (hopefully this year – just waiting to see my husband’s work travel plans). Your trip sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

