Looking Back at 2009

2009 is on its way out and 2010 is about to usher itself into the world.  Things changed a lot in 2009, in the world and in my life and I know that the coming months and 2010 are only going to bring more changes.  One of the  biggest changes in my life was Regular Rumination and my introduction to the book blogging community was on December 28th, 2008, a date that is approaching quickly and I can hardly believe it.  It has been wonderfully enriching to get to know all of you by talking about books and I’m looking forward to another wonderful year!

It’s too early still to put up my favorite books, but there are a few that I know will already make my list.  The Things They Carried was the first novel I read in 2009 and I really can’t think of a better way to start off the year.  It’s not only the best book I’ve read this year, but one of the best books I’ve ever read.  To round off the year, in September I got to meet Mr. O’Brien and see him speak.  It was an incredibly moving experience and one I’m not likely to forget any time soon.

Book blogging brought Young Adult fiction back into my life and like reacquainted best friends who stay up all night catching up, I read a ton of it.  Some of my favorite finds were Scott Westerfeld, John Green, Patrick Ness, Justine Larbalestier, Suzanne Collins, If I Stay by Gayle Forman, and Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Olive Kitteridge was a beautiful novel that not only won the Pulitzer but completely won me over, too.  Like The Things They Carried, it has staying power, at least on my top ten list.  2666 might have changed the way I read and my focus of study for my master’s.  The Grapes of Wrath and Something Wicked This Way Comes are two classics I read this year that lived up to their praise and also changed me as a reader.  Even though City of Thieves isn’t perfect, it ended up being one of my funniest reads of the year that still has me chuckling when I just think about some of the jokes included.

Graphic novels were big for me, especially graphic memoirs and non-fiction like Safe Area Gorazde by Joe Sacco and Stitches by David Small.  I made the commitment in 2009 to read more books by women and people of many different colors and nationalities; through that goal, I discovered two new favorite authors that I can’t wait to explore more: Tayari Jones and Octavia Butler.  I hope to make this an even bigger priority in 2010, with authors from around the globe.   Poetry made a comeback in my life and will only continue to become a bigger focus for next year.  I ditched all my challenges a couple months ago, but don’t worry, I’m making up for it in 2010.

Keep an eye out on my blog for a post that looks ahead to 2010 and as we get closer to the New Year, a final year end list that will be nearly impossible to put together.  Thanks everyone for making 2009 spectacular!

23 thoughts on “Looking Back at 2009

  1. Great post! I read The Things They Carried in high school and still remember it so well. I always think of it when I see a Vietnam veteran begging on the street…

    1. Aarti: Tim O’Brien has absolutely become one of my favorite authors, he’s just awesome. Thanks for visiting Regular Rumination and commenting 😀

  2. Must get my hands on Olive Kitteridge! And yay for your first year as a blogger being such a great one 😀 I’m very happy you joined our community ❤

    1. Nymeth: Yes, yes you must! I loved it to pieces. I went back and read my old review and remembered just how much I loved it and I want to read it again! I’m so happy to be here, thanks to folks like you 😀 ❤

  3. Lu, glad to have discovered your blog…and during your first year at that. Happy New Year in advance and keep up the good work!!! P.S. I’m still waiting for your Latin American spotlight series, though!

  4. Lots of excellent stuff for you this year. I’m a big fan of Octavia Butler. I’ve been pacing myself with her since she didn’t write all that much and isn’t around to write more.

    I thin Grapes of Wrath is a wonderful book, myself. 😉

    1. cbjames: I’ve only read Kindred and I’m about 3/4 of the way through Parable of the Sower, maybe I’ll only read one of Butler’s books a year. That way I’ll make them last. I don’t understand all the GoW naysayers! They don’t know what they’re missing 🙂

  5. Great to see all the love for 2666. I wonder if plodding through KL has gotten us all nostalgic.

    I read Something Wicked This Way Comes too this year – sort of. I abandoned it. I found his descriptions so dense I couldn’t figure out what was going on and had to keep re-reading paragraphs.

    1. EL Fay: I know, I’m feeling a little guilty because I’m not going to finish KL, I just didn’t have time at the end of the year. I loved loved loved Something Wicked This Way Comes. It was like poetry to me. Thanks for commenting here on Regular Rumination 🙂

  6. Happy almost-2010 and almost-blogiversary! I almost published a best-of list, & then read a book that should definitely be on it, so you’re wise to wait. 🙂 I really enjoy reading your blog & I’m glad you started it!

    1. Emily: Thank you! I’m glad I started it too, my life definitely wouldn’t be the same without it. I’m still cooking up some ideas for the days following Christmas with best of lists!

  7. Olive Kitteridge and 2666 had a big impact on my reading life this year as well. Both celebrating the difficult.

    Thanks to you for your own spectacular self! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

