Monthly Round-Up! November 2009

Another month has come and gone!  It’s kind of unbelievable that Christmas is almost here, that I have most of the holiday shopping complete, that the semester is almost over!  Right now I’m slacking quite a bit because I just can’t get back in the school groove after Thanksgiving break.  It always seemed cruel to make us go back to school after Thanksgiving, they should have just ended the semester!  But oh well, I can’t complain too much because I know that I’m only 4 papers away from home!  And that’s very exciting news.

November was a great reading month (because of all the slacking I did):

  1. Stitches by David Small (Read it: Now)
  2. Kristin Lavransdatter: The Wreath by Sigrid Undset
  3. City of Thieves by David Benioff  (Read it: Tomorrow)
  4. Push by Sapphire (Read it: Now)
  5. The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters (Read it: Next week)
  6. Under the Skin by Michel Faber (Read it: Now)
  7. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson (Read it: Tomorrow)
  8. Genesis by Bernard Beckett (Read it: Next month)
  9. The Compound by SA Bodeen (Read it: Next month)
  10. The Untelling by Tayari Jones (Read it: Tomorrow)
  11. The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud (Read it: Next week)
  12. Hate List by Jennifer Brown (Read it: Next week)
  13. Man in the Dark by Paul Auster (Read it: Next week)
  14. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson (Read it: Now)

Total pages read: 4, 473
Challenges: I called all my challenges quits a couple months ago, but I kept one, the personal reading challenge.  I wanted to read 100 books this year and I surprised myself by surpassing that goal this month and reading 106 books!  Woo!  I’m so excited about that!

I read a lot of really great books this month, but I think my favorites were Wintergirls, Stitches and City of Thieves.  I’m looking forward to December and finishing up this semester.  Also coming up: my one year blogging anniversary!  I mean, can you believe that?  That’s just ridiculous!  I can’t believe I’ve been at this for almost a year.  It’s been a wonderful year, that’s for sure.

What was your favorite book that you read this month?

5 thoughts on “Monthly Round-Up! November 2009

  1. I do wish school was more evened out throughout the year. It would be better to start a few weeks early and then end at Thanksgiving, and have two equidistant breaks in summer and winter. A one to two week spring and fall break would be nice, too!

    (okay I’ll go away now. done rearranging the school year)

  2. My college had 3 terms instead of 2 semesters, so we got out right before Thanksgiving and went back right after New Year’s (like Jan. 3). So I totally agree that making school continue after Thanksgiving is cruel-that happened to me when I studied abroad, and I just couldn’t bring myself to care at all.

Leave a Reply

