TSS: 29 November 2009

Good morning, Sunday Saloners!  I hope you had a fabulous holiday, if you are the Thanksgiving celebrating type, or just a fabulous week.  I spent my week spending time with my family and friends, reading Brave Story by Miyuki Miyabe and doing some Christmas shopping.  I bought books for the holidays, especially books that I want to read!  For my little sister K the older, who is 14, I got Going Bovine by Libba Bray, Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater and Liar by Justine Larbalestier.  K the younger is 11 and she will be receiving How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier, When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead and A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle .  My dad will be getting Under the Dome by Stephen King.   Don’t tell them!  I’m still not sure what I’m getting my youngest sister, C (10), but I’ll think of something.  For my mom and step-dad I got specialty salsa and a signed Paula Deen cookbook.

This week I reviewed Hate List by Jennifer Brown, The Compound by SA Bodeen and Genesis by Bernard Beckett, & Man in the Dark by Paul Auster.  I featured poet Mona Van Duyn and her poem “Earth Tremors Felt in Missouri” on this week’s installment of Poetry Wednesday.  Up next for review is The Emperor’s Children by Claire Messud.

I still haven’t read the second part of Kristin Lavransdatter, because I left it at home.  I’ll start reading it as soon as I get back and hopefully won’t  be  too late again.  Still reading Brave Story, it’s good, but I just haven’t had an uninterrupted reading time to really get into the story.  Which is difficult when the book is over 800  pages.  It would be really nice if I could finish it and start another book this weekend!  We’ll see.

I might be on the quiet side in the coming two weeks because it is exam time.  I’ll be busy writing papers and doing research, but I will miss you dearly, I promise.

What are you reading today?

8 thoughts on “TSS: 29 November 2009

  1. Are you buying books for all of the folks on your Xmas list? I did that last year and had quite a tough time of it! Picking books for folks is incredibly hard.

    As for Kristin Lavransdatter – it isn’t as bad as Richard says, I promise! It does suffer a little from “second book in a trilogy” syndrome but I hold out high hopes for book three!

    1. Almost everyone! My boyfriend is getting something a little different because I get him books for every holiday. I had to be a little creative this year!

      I’m glad someone is defending Kirstin Lavransdatter! I was questioning continuing it.

Leave a Reply

