Review – The Silenced by James DeVita

the silenced The Silenced is a plausible dystopian YA novel set in the not-so-distant future, where dissenters are “disappeared”, there is no due process, children are sent to training camps instead of school, and people live in a closed compounds.  It’s fast-paced and exciting, but it is not the best dystopian novel I have read.  What it does have going for it are two things: 1) the White Rose, the covert group in the novel, was based off of an actual group of young people who called themselves the White Rose in Nazi Germany and 2) it’s much more plausible than some other dystopian novels.

You will see the modern world in this novel.  DeVita did an excellent job drawing from real life, both in the United States and abroad.  I wish I had known more about the White Rose before reading the novel because I think that would have enhanced reading the novel.  The book is over 500 pages, but the ending manages to feel forced and rushed.  The first half of the novel was great, but there were just some things that frustrated me.  There were times when the sentence structure completely confused me and there were a lot of acronyms that I had difficulty keeping straight.  There were also some things that were never explained and confusing.  I recommend other novels over this one, but it is a well-crafted world and I think this would be a good one to teach in schools for its historical connection.

So go read this!: So go read this!: now | tomorrow |next week | next month | next year | when you’ve exhausted your TBR pile

Also read and reviewed by: Did you read and review The Silenced?  Leave a comment and I will link to your review here!

10 thoughts on “Review – The Silenced by James DeVita

  1. I was supposed to read this for a book club this summer, but at the time I was in the mood for no-stress books. I read the first couple chapters, and I was just filled with dread for what was going to happen, and I couldn’t handle it at the time. I am really looking forward to reading it when I can get to it, though.

  2. Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake is like that too: a futuristic yet disturbingly plausible dystopia. Not really a big YA fan, but maybe my little sister would like this.

    1. Lauren:

      I agree! I’m glad I read it. I also love the genre, so it fell flat for a lot of reasons, but was still an engaging read. Totally worth it!

Leave a Reply

