Review – Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi

Embroideries I have been a huge fan o f Marjane Satrapi since reading  Persepolis a year or so ago.  Her unique, deceptively simplistic drawing style is so moving and her topic of writing, life in Iran, is something that we so rarely get such an intimate glimpse of.  Embroideries is a smaller collection that is simply a conversation between women, talking about sex, marriage, love and men.  If you are a woman, you will find yourself in these pages.  It never fails to amaze me how we are all connected, that though our experiences are so extremely different, being a human being, or being a woman, is an experience that you can share across all boundaries.

Marjane’s grandmother, who we got to know in Persepolis, is leading this conversation and it is filled with aunts, mothers, friends and sisters.  These images and stories will make you laugh, but they will also touch your heart and make you cry.  Highly recommended!

testicles

So go read this!: now | tomorrow | next week | next month | next year | when you’ve exhausted your TBR pile

Also reviewed by: The Zen Leaf, In Spring it is the Dawn, Books of Mee, things mean a lot, Biblio File, The Written World

Did you read and review Embroideries?  Leave a comment letting me know and I’ll link to your review.

16 thoughts on “Review – Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi

  1. This is such a cute book. I read Chicken With Plums during readathon, and I liked it even more. It’s in format more like Persepolis than Embroideries, but still great. Satrapi’s art is amazing.

  2. I read this one a couple of months ago, and I really loved it. It was very much like sitting around with the women in my family–drives home the point that we’re all extremely similar despite location and culture. Great book! and great review! 😀

  3. I read this, but a few years ago (long before blogging). I liked how it was female-centric. I seem to remember it having more humor (as indicated from the page you excerpted above) than Satrapi’s other books.

    Like Amanda, I also read “Chicken with Plums” during the recent read-a-thon and liked it a lot also.

    I’m now wanting to re-read Satrapi’s books, including Embroideries!

    1. Valerie,

      A lot of people picked up Chicken with Plums this read-a-thon, I’ll have to pick that one for next time! I liked the humor and the way that the things that were sad ultimately did not overwhelm the parts that were funny.

  4. ps: I love your rating system 😀
    For me, I have some books that I reserve for the “Next 5 years” and “Next 10 years”. Lol.

    1. Mee,

      haha, yeah, I’ve been playing around with my rating system for a while now and I think this is the one that’s going to stick because that’s how I rate things in my head anyway!

  5. Ooo, that reminds me – I need to read the rest of ‘Persepolis’ NOW! I’ve only read (and loved) the first part. Glad to know Satrapi has written more books. I’ll have to look for them.

    1. tuulenhaiven,

      Persepolis is definitely her masterpiece, but the others are still such a unique experience. She’s just amazing!

Leave a Reply

