Operation: Read All the Books I Have Checked Out from the Library

tom_gauld_beasts_2Tom Gould’s contribution to Beasts! 2.
Please let me know, Mr. Gould, if you do not like my modification.

So.  We’ve talked here about my obsession with the library.  I mean, I know we have, right?  Right?  You know that I have anywhere from 35-55 books checked out at a time.  And that’s awful!  For so many reasons!  1) Because I CAN’T READ THAT MANY BOOKS.  2) Because I feel bad.  Okay?  There’s someone out there who’s browsing the stacks and they can’t have the opportunity to read a book because I’m a dirty hoarder.  3) I know, for a fact, that I will have to return all of the books on December 23.  The day of doom.  Therefore, interwebs, I have made a decision.

I know that most of my challenges will go unfinished at the end of the year, and I have accepted that.  CONCLUSION: All challenges that end in December are QUITS.  Now there is only one challenge – OPERATION: Read All the Books I Have Checked Out From the Library. All of them.  By December 23, when I go on winter break and leave College-Land for the homeland.

The List
Total books checked out: 43 (not my all time high, definitely higher than I thought…)

  1. The American Resting Place by Marilyn Yalom
  2. Antebellum Dream Book: Poems by Elizabeth Alexander
  3. Black Girl/White Girl (Audiobook) by Joyce Carol Oates
  4. The Book of Daniel by EL Doctorow
  5. Columbine by Dave Cullen
  6. Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books by Francesca Lia Block
  7. The Dead and the Gone by Susan Beth Pfeffer
  8. Disquiet by Julia Leigh
  9. Endpoint: Poems by John Updike
  10. Enrique’s Journey by Sonia Nazaro
  11. Going After Cacciato by Tim O’Brien
  12. Guernica by Dave Boling
  13. The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson
  14. Herzog by Saul Bellows
  15. The Host by Stephenie Meyers
  16. Housekeeping vs. the Dirt by Nick Hornby
  17. How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Theory of Globalization by Franklin Foer
  18. In the Lake of the Woods by Tim O’Brien
  19. July, July by Tim O’Brien
  20. The Last True Story I’ll Ever Tell: An Accidental Soldier’s Account of War in Iraq by John Crawford
  21. Late Wife by Claudia Emerson
  22. Minders of Make-Believe by Leonard S. Marcus
  23. The Night Watch (Audiobook) by Sarah Waters
  24. On Borrowed Words: A Memoir of Language by Ilan Stevens
  25. On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King
  26. One Day the Soldier’s Came: Voices of Children in War by Charles London
  27. Only Twice I’ve Wished for Heaven by Dawn Turner Trice
  28. Out of Mao’s Shadow: The Struggle for the Soul of New China by Philip P. Pan
  29. Phenomenal Women: Four Poems Celebrating Women by Maya Angelou
  30. The Pluto Files: The Rise and Fall of America’s Favorite Planet by Neil deGrasse Tyson
  31. Red Hot Salsa: Bilingual Poems on Being Young and Latino in the United States edited by Lori M. Carlson
  32. The Selected Work of TS Spivet by Reif Larson
  33. Sleeping it Off in Rapid City: Poems by August Kleinzhaur
  34. Spook: Science Tackles the Afterlife by Mary Roach
  35. Timbuktu by Paul Auster
  36. Tomcat in Love by Tim O’Brien
  37. Tyrannosaurus Rex versus the Corduroy Kid: Poems by Simon Armitage
  38. Under the Skin by Michael Faber
  39. Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of An Owl and his Girl by Stacy O’Brien
  40. When It Gets Dark: Enlightened Reflections on Life With Alzheimer’s by Tom DeBaggio
  41. When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
  42. Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson
  43. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

Think I can do it?  Probably not, but I’m going to try! The only exceptions are: The Strain, which She checked out from the library and I’m currently reading, and my books for school.  My professors probably wouldn’t understand if I gave up reading my school books for a book challenge.  Right?

EDIT: My other exception is, OF COURSE, Kristin Lavransdatter!

17 thoughts on “Operation: Read All the Books I Have Checked Out from the Library

  1. Whoa! Good luck! But what about Kristin L?? By the way, I’ve read your 2666 post, just have not had time enough to “ruminate” and comment on it. Will get back to that later!

  2. The library has been stressing me out lately too. For awhile every time I came across a book I wanted I just did ILL from the library and it would come for me. Then I started stressing out because I had so many books stacking up with the guilt and feeling that I should be reading them… so I stopped ILL-ing books and now they’re all just on a list. That makes me feel better since there isn’t a stack staring me in the face like a giant monster 🙂

    So good luck with your challenge! At this point, my goals for reading books I enjoy is to read like, two a month. There is no way I’d get through 43 before end of Decemeber, but I am cheering you on!

  3. Good luck. I try never to have more than 5 books from the library at one time. Except during readathon. of course, right now I’m on a semi-library ban, and am only allowed to check out books in certain cases…

  4. That’s an awesome challenge!! I heartily wish you luck – and am mesmerized by the variety of your reading choices. Makes me want to run over to the library right now and get a stack for myself. I’m on the other end of the spectrum – I have NO library books checked out and it’s been ages since I’ve browsed the stacks simply for the pleasure of finding un-heard-of-awesome-books-that-must-be-checked-out-now! 🙂

  5. How Soccer Explains the World is awesome! I loved loved loved that book to pieces.

    And… uhh… 43 books is quite a lot! I don’t think I’ve ever had more than like… 7 or 8 books out of the library. I’ll be cheering you on in your quest to read them though!

  6. Hey, Sir Lancelot, good thing we’re doing read-a-thon– two dirty hoarders (one to a lesser degree than the other) trying to turn their lives around. I am getting through mine though! Try becoming an insomniac; it might help.

    ps: chinese food is kinda funky the day after. truth.

  7. Wow, that is a lot. Perhaps I shouldn’t feel bad about buying a handful here and there no more 😉 I also have the dead and the gone in my stack and look forward to read it and hear what you have to say about it 🙂

  8. 43 books?????????? That’s more than I would check out when I was in grad school!!! Something about having books that I’ll need to return one day doesn’t appeal to me. And good luck to you–don’t know how you can read for fun and for school at the same time. I sucked at it when I was a student (or I just ignored my school reads for fun reads).

  9. Good luck with your challenge! That’s a lovely list of books. I currently have 50 books out (had 55 but had to return five because they were beyond renewal). Funny, I never feel guilty about having so many books out. But I do wish I could read them all!

  10. I don’t mean to one-up you, Lu, but I just checked my account and I seem to have 53 books checked out right now–with at least one more on the way! The good news is that I can renew them indefinitely. The bad news is that I can renew them indefinitely! You’ll forgive me if I don’t mention the two books I bought, won’t you??? P.S. Awesome graphic!

  11. Love the picture, lol. 😀

    I have over 50 books checked out from the library right now, but that’s totally the read-a-thon’s fault. 😉

    And here’s my running commentary on your list…

    Oh! Francesca Lia Block! I loved her in high school!

    Hey-I have Disquiet checked out right now too as part of my read-a-thon pile.

    I hope you review Enrique’s Journey, since I put it on my Hispanic Heritage list.

    Housekeeping vs the Dirt is awesome! How Soccer Explains the World was definitely fun. 🙂

    I enjoyed Sppok too. And Wesley the Owl, though it gets sad at the end.

    Wintergirls made me into a zombie for like 3 days after I read it.

  12. Hi, I know this post is old now, but I want to know: did you manage it? This is so familiar to me, because I usually have about 50 books out on my library card, but right now have run it up to 107!! Yes!! (This includes books for 2 other family members.) I get totally overwhelmed by the books I want to read.
    Really enjoying your blog, BTW.

    1. Brogan: No, unfortunately I didn’t manage! I read a lot of them, but ended up just starting over and taking a bunch of them back to the library. It’s okay though, I didn’t feel too bad 😉

Leave a Reply

