Poetry Wednesday: Spoken word poetry

poetrywednesday

We all write poems; it is simply that the poets are the ones who write in words.
– John Fowles

I think that that quote is a definite “aw” moment.  I really like it and I like the idea of poetry being everywhere, because I happen to believe that it is.  Anyway, today I want to show you some poetry that is presented in a slightly different medium.  There is something so incredibly moving about spoken word poetry and slam poetry.  It’s a totally different experience.  You cannot read it; it’s just not the same effect.  It can be sad and it can be funny; it can be moving and it can be angry.  The best performance poets are the ones that make you feel with every inch of your skin the feelings they are trying to show you.  Here are some of my favorites:

Taylor Mali: “The The Impotence of Proofreading”

“I Could be a Poet”

Rives: “Op-talk”

Rives has so many more that I love, so check out his website shopliftwindchimes.comDo you have any slam poets you want to share?  Who’s your favorite?

One thought on “Poetry Wednesday: Spoken word poetry

Leave a Reply

