TSS – 20 Sept 2009

TSSbadge2

Good morning!  This was an exciting week, but I’m even more excited for the week to come.  First, I’d like to say what an amazing time I had for Book Blogger Appreciation Week, between finding all the new blogs and participating in all the memes.  It was one giant love-fest for book bloggers.  Congratulations to all the blogs that won awards, but most of all, congratulations to everyone who has a book blog!  You are awesome!

This past week I read or listened to:

AfterDark(Audio)celestina

little-giant-200x200

WeHaveAlwaysLived

losing200

Next week I will read or begin reading:

belle ruin2666minders

el lazarillo

sower1

life

An exciting list of books to read, but I know most of them are going to take me quite a long time.  El Lazarillo is for class on Thursday, so that takes priority right now.  I like to read a YA book at the same time I read 2666, because I like something to lighten the load a little bit, prose-wise.  I chose Life As We Knew It for this time around.  I’m a little bit sad and extremely excited to begin the last book of 2666Minders of Make Believe will probably take me a month or two to finish, just because I have been reading my non-fiction books so slowly.

Does anyone know anything about Belle Ruin? Anyone read it?  I requested it at the library on audio for the commute, and it’s already been requested again, so it made it to the top of the list.  I think that’s plenty to occupy myself!

Then on Saturday it’s time for NATIONAL BOOK FESTIVAL.  I’m excited!  Who else will be there?!  We must say hello!

Have a happy reading day everyone, I’m going to be spending most of the day doing homework!  Hopefully I’ll get a little reading in.  Maybe, just maybe!

15 thoughts on “TSS – 20 Sept 2009

  1. I wish I were going to be there! Blow a kiss to Marilynne Robinson for me. 🙂

    I’m so excited to hear everyone’s thoughts on the final section of 2666.

    1. I will! I wish I had gotten the opportunity to read one of her books before going! I’m most excited about meeting Tim O’Brien. I’ll definitely have to make a trip to the bookstore so I can buy The Things They Carried for him to sign!

    1. Lauren:

      Please read Octavia Butler! I love her!! I just finished “Life As We Knew It” and it was absolutely amazing. I can’t wait to review it. I highly highly highly recommend “We Have Always Lived in the Castle” as well. Look out for my review next week.

  2. Have fun at the Book Festival, I am filled with envy.

    I don’t know Belle Ruin but love the several of the other titles and am very curious about Minders of Make-Believe. Will you review it?

  3. After Dark and The Parable of the Sower: two books on my TBR list! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on them.

    Have you read Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle? Now that was one book I could not figure out.

Leave a Reply

