My BBAW

As I said in my last post, this BBAW is not just about the folks who are receiving awards, but all the wonderful book blogs you read.  Amy has asked us to write our own personal BBAW shortlists to include the blogs we read and are most excited about.

So, here you have it.  These are the blogs that, when they have a review, make me jump straight to their blog because I think they have interesting things to say.  These are the people that I think deserve some love, so head on over and let them know you’re reading.

Best new blog: A Book Blog.  Period.

So, I might be a little biased because I sleep barely 10 feet away from this girl.  We’re housemates and she just started her little blogling.  It’s off to a raucous start though and I’m oh, so proud!

Best connections: Care of Care’s Online Book Club and Kim of Sophisticated Dorkiness.

These ladies are ah-mazing.  Care has always been one of the people who leaves awesome comments on my blog and I just love reading her posts.  She’s witty and obviously finds reading and blogging to be a totally joyous experience.  Plus, I won a giveaway on her blog of Population: 485 and she included a lovely, handwritten note.  It totally made my day!

Kim, fellow graduate student, is the amazing host of the Blog Improvement Project.  Though I’ve been slacking, it’s one of the most helpful blogging events out there.   She asks us to really look critically about our blogs, and even if I haven’t been participating formally, it’s something that has stuck with me as this blog grows.  I’m always thinking about the issues and guidelines that Kim discusses.  She’s an informative writer whose blog is a wonderful resource about all sorts of things!  To top it all off, she’s a fabulous commenter and I’m super jealous because she finished Infinite Jest this summer.

2666 pals: Emily of Evening All Afternoon, Claire of kiss a cloud, Steph of Steph and Tony Investigate, Gavin of Page 247, EL Fay of This Book and I Could be Friends , Jackie of Farm Lane Books (plus Richard of Caravana de Recuerdos and Frances of Nonsuch Book, who were shortlisted for BBAW)

I couldn’t let this list go by without listing these fellow bloggers.  I don’t know what I would have done without the 2666 read along.  I have loved every single minute of it and I think we have an amazing group of bloggers here.  We’ve decided to continue the party by reading Kristin Lavransdatter after we finish up the last section of 2666.  Not only did I find some of the most intriguing blogs that I’ve read, but it made the reading experience so much more enjoyable to have a group of people reading and discussing the same book as you.  We’re all very different readers who focus on very different things when we read.

I hope you found a new blog or two here to read.  Enjoy all the festivities!

8 thoughts on “My BBAW

  1. Lu, I’m super psyched that you’re in for the Kristin readalong! Like you, I don’t know what I would have done without the 2666 readalong, and the best part has been discovering all our fellow readers. I’m looking forward to checking out your other recommendations!

  2. Lu, thanks so much for the mention! I’m so happy we got together and that it won’t end with 2666! It’s always a pleasure to read your insightful and intelligent thoughts. I can’t wait to start Kristin L! And then VW next year!! 😀

  3. I am so pleased that we had such a great group for the 2666 readalong. I don’t think I would have enjoyed it any where near as much if I had read it on my own.

    I’m really looking forward to Kristin – I just have to decide whether to stick with the book I have or go and buy a new one with a better translation. I’m really struggling to decide!

  4. Lu, thank you so much for the shout-out! You summed up the 2666 group very nicely. I am SO glad I signed up.

    I just finished Let the Right One In and I’ll be writing about it on Thursday, when we blog about books we discovered on other book blogs. Of course, I learned about that one here!

Leave a Reply

