Things are about to get exciting around here!*

Lazarillo_de_Tormes*Depending on your definition of exciting.

So.  As you may recall, I’m currently enrolled in a class called “The Spanish Picaresque Novel,” which is a novel published in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, it follows a picaroon, or a rather unsavory character, who ultimately acts as a satire.  Originally I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this class; there’s little doubt that it’s going to be a leap and a half out of my comfort zone.  Not only is it really old, but it’s written in Spanish.  However, after meeting the professor and going to the first class, I’m a little bit more excited about it.  The professor described the picaroon as Bart Simpson.   Since we’re going to be reading novels (a lot of novels), I’m kind of excited to write about them here.

Here is the text list for the class:

  • El Lazarillo del Tormes by Anonymous.  This is the only book I’ve previously read from this genre.
  • Novelas Ejemplares I y II by Cervantes.  Cervantes actually wrote a lot other than Quixote.  These are collections of stories and we will be reading three or four of them.
  • El Buscón by Quevedo.  I’ve read some of Quevedo’s poetry, but none of his novels.
  • La Celestina by de Rojas.  A play.
  • Guzman del Alfrache by Alemán.  Oh my goodness.  This thing is a TOME.  In fact, our edition is two books because the binding couldn’t handle one?
  • La Hija de Celestina by Barbarillo.  I can only assume this is a sequel to La Celestina.

Anyone out there read any of these?  Should I be excited?  Scared?  Running in the other direction?

One thought on “Things are about to get exciting around here!*

  1. Lu, I think you may be pleasantly surprised by some of these! Of course, I’m totally biased because I LOVE Lazarillo de Tormes. Cervantes’ Novelas ejemplares strike me as rather hit or miss, but La celestina is a weird classic (very interesting in terms of the society it portrays) that tends to inspire very interesting reactions. And I’ve heard great things about the Quevedo novel, but I haven’t read it yet despite buying a copy nearly a year ago. I understand that Guzmán de Alfarache is very salacious, but I think I’ve just read excerpts of that. Anyway, I hope you stick with the course–I’d love to hear what you think about these works!

Leave a Reply

