R.I.P. IV

rip4banner200

It’s time for RIP IV!  I’m so absurdly excited!  Every time I’ve read a scary book this year, someone has undoubtedly said “I’m saving that one for RIP.”  And I said: “I’m such a newb!  What’s that?!”  Of course, I didn’t have to wait long.  Carl of Stainless Steel Droppings announced the early arrival of RIP IV!  My book selection:

  • Ravens by George Dawns Green.  I’m not sure this one qualifies, but the book jacket describes the writing thusly: “Shaw’s plot depends on maintaining constant fear – merciless, unfaltering terror….”  Sounds good right?!
  • Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger.  I didn’t think there were people out there who loved TTW as much as I did, but then I discovered book blogging and realized that there’s a whole army of us.  I will buy this book and I will love it.
  • The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón.  I’ve seen this on a couple other lists, and this is the perfect excuse.

But okay, kids, THAT’S NOT ENOUGH.  Please, recommend some that are going to terrify me.  Make me tremble!  Give me nightmares!

16 thoughts on “R.I.P. IV

  1. An army and a half!

    As for recommendations, have you read Shirley Jackson? If not, DO! We Have Always Lived in the Castle is particularly awesome. Also, Tideland by Mitch Cullin, a sadly underrated southern Gothic novel with an awesome girl as a protagonist. Daphne du Maurier is great too, and John Bellairs, and oh, you’ve GOT to read Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury!

    1. Funny story! I was looking up all the authors in this comment at my local library, and when I got to John Bellairs, all of the sudden all the titles seemed very familiar. Turns out, I read most of his books in elementary school! We had all the copies illustrated by Edward Gorey. I might have to read one of these, to see if I remember them at all. Thank you for reminding me of him!

  2. The creepiest thing I’ve read in a while is Skinlane by Neil Bartlett. It’s not very well known in the U.S. but it’s very creepy. In fact, I’m a little grossed out now just thinking about it.

    1. I saw your review for this, and it might be just what I’m looking for. It does look quite disturbing. Thanks for the rec!

  3. My faves from the past RIP:
    Something Wicked This Way Comes
    The Ghost Writer
    A Fine and Private Place (but it’s not scary)

    I read The House Next Door for RIP II, and while it terrified me, it also really, really upset me. So I hesitate to recommend it, but it is super creepy and will get under your skin.

    Books I recommended in last year’s RIP post:
    Heart-Shaped Box
    Will Storr vs. the Supernatural (nonfic memoir, but it creeped me out when I read it late at night!)

    I second, third, and fourth Nymeth’s suggestion of We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

    I put together a big pool on my blog this year, so I haven’t read them yet, but maybe you’ll find something that looks like fun!

    1. I requested The House Next Door and I’m going to see if they have We Have Always Lived in the Castle. Thanks for all the recommendations, Eva!

  4. Don’t you love bookbloggers!!! oh, I am ABSURDLY excited, too! these comments are thrilling me. I was going to say Something Wicked This Way Comes – you’ll be impressed or I’m not a Zombie Chicken.

  5. Poe, of course. The Historian is a great one–very creepy. I think I’ll be adding Rebecca to my list, but not sure if that’s the type of trembling you’re looking for. Stephen King, but I won’t go there so I wouldn’t make that suggestion (I’m a wimp!!). Enjoy Lu!

    1. Trish: I have read the Historian and I LOVED IT. So I second that recommendation to anyone who is looking for something to read for RIP IV. I have On Writing in my car, but I don’t think that’s the kind of Stephen King you were referring to 😉

  6. I’m listening to The Ravens on audio book and just about finished. At first I didn’t like it, but now I can’t wait to hear how it ends _Excellent read !

    1. BevE: That’s good! I hadn’t heard of anyone who had read it, and just picked it up on a whim, so it’s good to know someone enjoyed it 🙂

Leave a Reply

