TSS – 23 August 2009 (in which I use many exclamation points!)

TSSbadge2

Hello!  It’s a beautiful morning here in Virginia, a little hot, but still bright and sunny after the torrential rain we had yesterday.  It’s been a busy couple days with all my roommates moving in and getting re-settled in the new house.  I woke up this morning to cat pee in my bed, which was UNPLEASANT.  To say the least.  But I’m hoping it was just moving frustration from one of our cats?  I don’t know.

I have graduate school orientation on Thursday and I’m really looking forward to it.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

Bookish things:

skimtamaki_thumb

I read Skim by Mariko Tamaki, and it was one of the best graphic novels I have ever read.  The pictures are gorgeous and the story is so wonderful.  In many ways I was Skim when I was in middle school, so I might be a little biased, but I think Tamaki captured perfectly what it means to be young.  I will have a full review of the book coming soon, but for now, just know that it comes highly recommended.

2666slipcase

I started reading the new section of 2666, The Part About the Crimes and so far I’m feeling back in the groove of 2666 after being extremely underwhelmed by Part III.  This part is much longer, so I’m glad I started it a little early.  Anyone else start reading The Part About the Crimes?  What do you think of it so far?

Book Blogger Appreciation Week is almost here!  I am chairing two committees, so I’ve been finding hundreds (literally!) of new book blogs to read.  It’s crazy and my Google Reader is out of control, but I don’t mind at all.  I love seeing all the great work you guys are doing.  I’ve loved helping out, it’s been a blast.  Of course, all the work isn’t over yet, but I’m seriously having a ton of fun.  A big thanks to Amy from My Friend Amy for organizing everything!

bookfestival

Get excited:

The National Book Festival is only ONE MONTH AWAY!  Is anyone else out there going to this?  I’m going to be there and I’m more than excited.  I keep going to the website to see if they’re going to add new authors.  You can go to the National Book Festival website and sign up to get text message news announcements!  That’s probably the dorkiest thing I’ve done in a while.   I’m really excited to see: Kate DiCamillo, Lois Lowry, Paula Deen, Junot Díaz (!), John Irving (!), Sue Monk Kidd, Mark Kurlansky (!), George Pelecanos, and most of all – TIM O’BRIEN (!!!!!!!!!).

I’m hyperventilating a little bit just thinking about it.

Coming up this week @ RegularRumination:

  • Review of Skim
  • Review of One Day the Soldiers Came
  • Poetry Wednesday?!
  • Graduate school update!
  • Giveaway!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (A real one, this time)

How was your week?  Did you read anything interesting?

10 thoughts on “TSS – 23 August 2009 (in which I use many exclamation points!)

  1. I haven’t started reading Part 4 yet.. hope I won’t be scrambling by the end of the month. And happy to know you’re enjoying it more than the last. 🙂

  2. Like Claire, I haven’t started Part 4 yet, but I will soon! I won’t be so late to the party this time around. And I hope this part holds up for me better than the last, which I found a bit underwhelming, as you did.

  3. I think people should use exclamation points more often! 🙂 Sometimes I have to edit my sentences, especially in comments, after I see that all of my sentences end in ex points. Oh well.

    Good luck with orientation on Thursday–can’t wait to hear how it goes. and really looking forward to your thoughts on Skim. I’ve heard such good things about it and I think it’s time I finally pick it up.

    You got my email, right? Yours originally went into spam so I’ve been paranoid about it.

  4. hi!!!!! one more exciting thing to add to your week: you’ve won my book giveaway for Population 485 by Michael Perry. Email or Twit/DM me your address and I’ll send it off on Tuesday! 🙂

  5. So jealous you get to go to the National Book Festival! Make sure you take a million pictures of Tim O’Brien and get his autograph (and then post the pictures so I can be jealous some more). The J-School has orientation this Wednesday; I’m on a panel talking about adjusting to life in the grad program… with no idea what I’m going to say yet.

  6. I’m really excited about the National Book Festival, too! Lots of great authors. Hopefully the weather will be decent for us… we’ve had a mild summer in the D.C. area, so let’s hope it’s not ridiculously humid! Regardless, it’ll be awesome 🙂

  7. Lu, I was flat out wowed by Bolaño’s The Part About the Crimes! Not that you need to choose a favorite part in any book or anything, but I think this segment of 2666 is the best (and the most challenging, in some ways) so far. Hope you like it, too!

Leave a Reply

