TSS – August 2

TSSbadge2

Can I tell you a secret?  We’re at the secret-telling stage, right blogosphere?   Good.  I’m writing this page on THURSDAY!  I’m so caught up on my reviews and reading (this never happens) that I have all my posts for next week scheduled.  I don’t even know what to do with myself.  This is MADNESSSSSSSS. It’s like I’m talking to the future!

You know what else is madness?  The fact that it’s August (well, not yet, but it will be when you are reading this, ahhhhhh). I start graduate school in 31 days. I’m not ready for this.

roundupbutton

I had a really good reading month, even after a slow start.  Here’s what I read in July:

  1. 2666 – The Part About Amalfitano by Roberto Bolaño 85%
  2. The Turnaround by George Pelecanos 68%
  3. A Home At the End of the World by Michael Cunningham 89%
  4. Broken April by Ismail Kadare 85%
  5. Widdershins by Charles de Lint 89%
  6. Memory by Phillipe Grimbert 94%
  7. Quartet in Autumn by Barbara Pym 79%
  8. The Implacable Order of Things by José Luís Peixoto  98%
  9. 2666 – The Part About Fate by Roberto Bolaño 81%
  10. Maus I, A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History by Art Speigelman 98%
  11. if you come softly by Jacqueline Woodson 96%
  12. Cool Salsa edited by Lori M Carlson 86%
  13. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang 88%
  14. Maus II, A Survivor’s Tale: And Here My Troubles Begin by Art Speigelman 89%

Man, I got on some kind of kick recently.  I read those last 6 books in 2 days.  I am not that fast of a reader.  Grated, they were all graphic novels or poetry or really short, but still.

Audio books: 2
Graphic novels: 3
Poetry: 1
Memoir: 4

Average rating: 87.5% (One of these days I will break the 90% average mark!  One day!)
Total pages: 3,058

Challenges update:

A to Z Challenge – 18/52
Dewey Decimal Challenge – 1.75/10
Read Your Name Challenge – 2/6
Orbis Terrarum Challenge – 8/10
1% Well-Read – 7/13
Celebrate Women’s History Month – 7/7  COMPLETE
Once Upon a Time III Challenge – 4/4  COMPLETE
Personal reading goal for 2009 – 61/100 (YEAAAAAAAH!)

I’m approaching my all-time high record for books read in one year – 75.  I should totally be there by mid September.  Especially if I keep reading like I have been for the past two days.   There are a couple more challenges that I have joined, but I haven’t gotten myself organized yet.  They will hopefully be included in the next month’s update!

Mini Review: The Turnaround by George Pelecanos

turnaround(See, it’s mini!)

I know a lot of people liked this book, but I was not a fan.  The first part of the book was pretty interesting and well-written.  It was somewhat entertaining to listen to, but other than that, I was actually offended by parts of it.  There were parts when I would think, “Wow, that’s racist.”  And I know that the point was to evoke the atmosphere of the time, but it wasn’t when a character was speaking or when something was being explained, instead it was the narrator who said something that I thought was inappropriate.  I wish I had it written down, so I could quote it exactly.  I was also kind of offended by the ending: black man is wronged in life and only the white man can help him get back on his feet. The writing was poor, which was only more painfully evident when someone is reading it to you.  And, to top it all off, I guessed the ending before it was revealed.  It was so obvious.  I’ve heard that this book is a poor example of Pelecanos’s skills, so I should pick up some of his earlier stuff.

The narrator, however, did a wonderful job.

68%

Disclaimer: I hardly ever read mysteries.

13 thoughts on “TSS – August 2

  1. I too start graduate school this autumn, although for me this is the second time around. I hope all goes well for you. Me, I would just like a book list so I can get reading. Is that too much to ask? If anyone complains that we’ve none of us read the set texts someone is going to get the sharp edge of my tongue!

  2. I just started scheduling blog posts ahead and I love it! Writing several posts at a time while I’m in the flow of writing means that I end up putting more content on my blog.

  3. Lu – Great reading month! I should track my monthly reads, those books I review, those I don’t and the ones I abandon for whatever reason. Have a good week..

    1. It definitely makes you feel accomplished. I never track my DNFs though. I go back and forth on it, but sometimes I’m afraid it would make me feel like a failure. I start and put down so many books a month it would frighten some people.

  4. Congrats on a fab month of reading. AND! I took a photo of somebody reading in a precarious? spot on Block Island but, oh-what a view. I think a WHERE-DO-YOU-READ feature is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

