Sunday Salon – 7 June 2009

TSSbadge2

Good morning, everyone!  I hope you’re having a wonderful start to your Sunday.  I’m up visiting my dad and younger sisters (K the Older and K the Younger) in Pennsylvania.  That means I’ve had plenty of Amtrak time to read and catch up on my reviews and will have even more when I head back down to Virginia tomorrow.  It’s been a fairly uneventful weekend.  Yesterday I fell asleep around 12, after waking up at 6 am, and slept until 3 pm!  It was so nice, I haven’t napped like that in forever.  Then I went outside and read The Grapes of Wrath.

At the moment, I’m reading three equally wonderful books.  As I mentioned before, I’m reading The Grapes of Wrath and so far I love it.  It’s so descriptive and the language and characters are absolutely amazing.  Of course, I’m only on page 25.

I’m also reading Supersense: Why We Believe the Unbelievable by Bruce Hood.  Bruce Hood has agreed to be interviewed for RegularRumination, so I was worried that I wasn’t going to like his book, then it was going to be awkward, and I would have to write a negative review and then the author would not want to be interviewed.  Fortunately, that is NOT what has happened!  I love the book, and I can’t wait to tell you all about it.  Essentially, the book is about how there is a biological reason for believing things that are, well, unbelievable.  I definitely appreciate Hood’s nonoffensive stance, so that I feel anyone can read this novel, regardless of their belief system.

Do you have any questions for Bruce Hood?  If so, I’ll include them in my interview!  Just leave a question in the comment section.  Here is more information about his book Supersenseand his blog.

I’m also reading The American Resting Place by Marilyn Yalom.  You really need to get this book!  It’s so good.   I’m loving every minute of it.  It’s so hard reading three excellent books at once, I never know which one to read.  I’ve been reading one chapter of each.

How is your reading going this week?  What is the best book you’ve read recently?

3 thoughts on “Sunday Salon – 7 June 2009

  1. I’m also reading three books right now — Rabbit, Run by John Updike, American Gods, and a review book called The Sinful Life of Lucy Burns. I want to read the review copy right away since it was sent to me, but I keep getting distracted with the other two because they’re both very good. Oh well, I think it’s better to have all good books that all mediocre or all bad books 🙂

Leave a Reply

