Reading Meme – Just for fun

A combination of reading memes floating around the internet, especially at things mean a lot!

Which author do you own the most books by?
Probably JK Rowling (9), but next on the list is Madeline L’Engle (5), Charles De Lint (3), José Saramago (3) and Haruki Murakami (3)

Which book do you own the most copies of?
I randomly have 2 copies of The Dante Club after a mishap at Paperback Swap, but that’s it.

Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Nah.

What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I try to be fairly well-rounded, but I’d really like to read more classics.  All kinds of classics!

Which fictional character are you secretly in love with?
I can’t really think of any particular character, but I’ve always loved Henry and Claire as a couple, from The Time Traveler’s Wife. They just completed each other.

Which book have you read more than any other?
Ella Enchanted, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, A Wrinkle in Time, Many Waters. Those four are the ones I read more than any other when I was younger, and the amount I read them would top any book I’ve read more than once now!

What was your favorite book when you were 10 years old?
Well, those 4 above, but I was probably closer to 12.
What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
The Elementary Particles by Houellebecq.  I really really disliked it.  But all the things I hated about it, I liked in Houellebecq’s other novel Platform.  Didn’t love, but liked.
What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, Neon Vernacular by Yusef Komunyakaa, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
What is the worst book you’ve ever read?
I’m going to have to agree with Nymeth here.  The Alchemist is easily one of the worst books I’ve ever read.  That and I Am Charlotte Simmons by Tom Wolfe.  Has anyone else read this?  Did anyone like it?

If you could tell everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
You know, this is an interesting question.  Because even though I gushed to no end about Olive Kitteridge, I don’t know that I would recommend it to many people.  I know that sounds really weird.  It’s because I loved it so much, but I loved it for deeply personal reasons.  It was a question of style – I admired Strout’s style so much, and I admired her storytelling ability, but I don’t necessarily think the book is for everyone.  So if I had to recommend a book that I think everyone should read it would be Kindred by Octavia Butler.  The answer kind of surprised me, because it’s not the highest rated book I’ve read this year, but I think it’s the most important while still being entertaining.

Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
Russians.  See my description of Houellebecq above.  I really really like Crime and Punishment and Chekhov.

Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Shakespeare… but I haven’t read enough of Milton or Chaucer.

Austen or Eliot?
Eliot.  I didn’t finish reading Mill on the Floss, but I think I’d like it better than Austen if I ever get around to trying again.  I don’t have much of an opinion about Austen.

Roth or Updike?
I don’t particularly like Roth, but I’ve never read Updike.
David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Can’t answer that one!

What is your favorite novel?
This question gets harder and harder to answer every day.  And I seem to change my answer every time someone asks.  Books that have made me really happy: Middlesex by Jeffery Euginides, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audre Niffenegger, Kindred by Octavia Butler, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez, The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien, The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver, Blindness by José Saramago.  And the list goes on and on. 
What is your favorite play?
Athol Fugard’s Statements and Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead by Tom Stoppard.  If you haven’t read this play, go. read. it. now. If you haven’t read Hamlet, go read that first.

What is your favorite short story?
“Talpa” by Juan Rulfo, “Axolotl” by Julio Cortázar, “The Night Face Up” by Julio Cortázar, “The Dead Man” by Horacio Quiroga, “The Errand” by Elena Poniatowska, “Sin of Omission” by Ana María Matute.  You can see where my leaning lies – all Latin American authors, one Spaniard (Matute).   As for short story collection, After the Quake by Haruki Murakami is easily my favorite.

What is your favorite poem?
Not happening, can’t do it.  How about my favorite poets?  Yusef Komunyakaa, Derek Walcott, Allen Ginsberg, ee cummings, Pablo Neruda

What is your favorite epic poem?
Pablo Neruda – “Canto general”
What is your favorite non-fiction?
In Cold Blood by Truman Capote (Easily one of the most terrifying, nightmare inducing books I have ever read.)  Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss, The Basque History of the World by Mark Kurlansky, Love is a Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield

 

What is your favorite essay?
“The Sons of La Malinche” by Octavio Paz

What is your favorite graphic novel?
Jimmy Corrigan by Chris Ware and Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

What is your favorite science fiction? (I’m having trouble deciding what I think science fiction is, haha)
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, Kindred by Octavia Butler, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins,

What is your favorite fantasy?
The Wrinkle in Time Quartet by Madeleine L’Engle & His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

What is your favorite memoir?
I Confess that I Have Lived: Memoirs by Pablo Neruda

What is your favorite history?
Salt and A Basque History of the World by Mark Kurlansky.  I think this is going to change, because I’m currently reading The American Resting Place by Marilyn Yalom and it is absolutely superb.  One of the best non-fiction/history books ever.
What is your favorite mystery or noir?
I can’t really think of one right now.

Who is your favorite writer?
Haruki Murakami, Louise Erdrich, Madeleine L’Engle.  This favorite business obviously has no meaning for me.   How many books to you have to read by an author to decide they’re your favorite?

Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Paulo Coehlo
What are you reading right now?

More books than usual – Supersense by Bruce Hood, The American Resting Place by Marilyn Yalom, The Grapes of Wrath by Steinbeck and a couple others that I can’t think of right now.

 

Name the last book by a female author that you’ve read.
The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

Name the last book by an African or African-American author that you’ve read.
Neon Vernacular by Yusef Komunyakaa and Kindred by Octavia Butler (finished on the same day!)

Name one from a Latino/a author.
Malinche by Laura Esquivel

How about one from an Asian country or Asian-American?
Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto

What about a GLBT writer?
I can’t think of one, but then again, I don’t really know about most authors.  As for ones that had GLBT themes… it’s been a while.  Not since Fingersmith.  Clearly this is something I need to work on!

Why not name an Israeli/Arab/Turk/Persian writer, if you’re feeling lucky?
Beneath my Mother’s Feet by Amjed Qamar

Any other “marginalized” authors you’ve read lately?

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie.  I don’t like that word, but I appreciate that it is quotes.

Whew!  That was long, but fun.  If you made it to the end of this post then you win an internet cookie (ha-ha).

7 thoughts on “Reading Meme – Just for fun

  1. It IS a great meme. I have enjoyed it whenever I saw it around.
    I own more books by Agatha Christie than by anyone else, but that is only because she wrote so many!

  2. yay, I’ve just checked and the library has Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead! I shall pick it up next week. Also, I ordered Ella Enchanted after the stern talking to you gave me the other day 😛 The things you make me do, Lu!

    lol, I should totally have answered Paulo Coelho in the overrated question instead of ranting.

  3. I agree with Rose City Reader. These are all great questions, and one could say a whole lot, if one wanted to, for each one! I’m thinking of stealing this meme and maybe breaking it up into several different blog posts. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Lu!

  4. My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english

Leave a Reply

