Library Loot! First week of June 2009

library-loot

Library Loot is hosted by Eva and Alessandra.  Well, folks, I was doing so well.  Then today, on my bike ride, a sudden thunderstorm hit our fair city and lo and behold!  I was right by the library.  Needless to say, I left the library with more books than I could possibly read.  I now have 31 books checked out from the library, not quite my all-time high, but close.

FICTION

memory

Memory by Philippe Grimbert : I found this book in the New Books section of my library.  It’s not really that new, it’s a year old.  It qualifies for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge (France), and has some hefty praise on the cover.  It’s a beautiful cover to boot.

death

Death With Interruptions by José Saramago : Did you know José Saramago has a new book?  I’m not sure I’ll get around to reading this one.  I won’t lie, even though Blindness is one of my favorite books, I have to work myself up to reading a book by Saramago.  It’s like running a marathon.  I’m a big fan of short chapters, and short paragraphs.  Saramago is like my arch nemesis.  Except we’re more like frienemies.  Best frienemies.  It sounds absolutely fascinating.  Death stops existing, humanity rejoices.  Until things start to go wrong.  Well death doesn’t quite stop existing, she lives in an apartment and is thinking about falling in love.  Also qualifies for Orbis Terrarum Challenge.  Possibly OUTIII?

broken-april

Broken April by Ismail Kadare.  Part of the A-Z Challenge, 1001 Books to Read Before You Die 1% Well-Read Challenge, Orbis Terrarum Challenge (Albania).

POETRY – For the VPR Challenge I’m hosting!bicycles-by-nikki-giovanni-cover-art1

Bicycles by Nikki Giovanni :  Nikki Giovanni is a pretty famous poet down here in Virginia (and everywhere else).  She’s a favorite of many poets I admire, so I’m looking forward to reading this book.

flight

Flight: New and Selected Poems by Linda Bierds : My library has a poetry wall, and I pretty much clear it out every time I go to the library… it probably drives them batty.  Anyway, this book was featured this month, so I snagged it.  I love the cover!

NON FICTION

I definitely need to catch up on my Dewey Decimal Challenge.  I’ve been slacking, severely.  I’ve only one and a half books!  So I got three from the library, so I can make up for my slacking.

supersense-us-cover

Supersense: Why We Believe in the Unbelievable by Bruce M. Hood : Ooh, this one looks good!  It’s written by a cognitive psychologist, trying to understand why exactly we believe the crazy things we do.  Dewey Decimal challenge: 153.4. Mr. Hood has a blog of his own!

Decoding the heavens

Decoding the Heavens: A 2,000-year-old Computer – And the Century-Long Search to Discover its Secrets by Jo Marchant: I love outer space.  Really.  This is more about an ancient… thing… that tried to explain space and has been confusing scientists ever since it was found.  I think, I don’t really know a lot about it.  That’s why I’m reading the book!  681.111

And finally, the book I’m probably most excited about: On Borrowed Words: A Memoir of Language by Ilan Stavans.  Multilingual, multicultural memoir about another book-loving fool.  I can’t wait.  868  (The only images of this one I could find were teeny tiny!  I’ll have to take a picture of it later.

That’s the loot and I’m super excited.  Can’t wait to share my reviews with you!

8 thoughts on “Library Loot! First week of June 2009

  1. Lu! You could also read Reaper Man by Terry Pratchett, which has a very similar premise and is shinier and cooler and better! Not to mention much more readable! Okay, let me run away before any Saramago fans hurt me 😛

  2. I love your loot. Memory has been sitting on my shelves ever since it came out. I checked out Death with Interruptions read half of it and had to return it to the library. What I read was pretty good. Saramago is one of my favorite authors and I have to agree with you: reading him is like running a marathon.

    So now I’m off to see if the
    rest of your loot is at my library. Happy reading.

  3. When I first read your post I thought you had borrowed 31 books to carry home on your bicycle during a rainstorm! Glad to realize upon re-reading that it was only a half dozen 🙂

    David Byrne reviewed a book about biking in the NYT this weekend. I can’t for the life of me remember the title or author though! I was impressed by the review he wrote (both by his skills as a writer and the book he was reviewing)

Leave a Reply

