May Round up!

roundupbuttonLike every month that has come before it, I can’t believe that May is over!  It has been an eventful month, to be sure.  I graduated from college, moved a washer and dryer upstairs, traveled to the beach, went to work (blechgh) etc. etc. etc.  It was also a pretty good month for reading!

Stats:

  1. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian – by Sherman Alexie  – 87%
  2. Thirteen Reasons WhyJay Asher – 87%
  3. The Ghost Writer John Harwood – 69%
  4. The 19th Wife David Ebershoff – 77%
  5. Olive Kitteridge Elizabeth Strout – 98%
  6. The Plague of Doves Louise Erdrich – 93%
  7. Tender Morsels Margo Lanagan – 89% (OUT III)
  8. 2666 – The Part About the Critics Roberto Bolaño – 87%
  9. The Cellist of Sarajevo – Steven Galloway – 90%
  10. The Mystery of Grace Charles De Lint – 75% (Once Upon a Time III)

Total Pages: 2, 905

So… I didn’t read 15 books.  It ended up being a lot busier month than I thought.  Half of the books I read this month were read last week.   Next month will always be better!

Goal for June: 13.  A little less ambitious, but a little bit more than May!

A to Z Challenge – 8/52
Dewey Decimal Challenge – 1.75/10
Read Your Name Challenge – 2/6
Orbis Terrarum Challenge – 1/10
1% Well-Read – 0/13
Celebrate Women’s History Month – 7/7 COMPLETE
Once Upon a Time III Challenge – 3/4
Personal reading goal for 2009 – 40/100

Coming soon:

  • Reviews Tender Morsels, The Mystery of Grace, & The Cellist of Sarajevo
  • First installment of the Latin American Author Highlights – Jorge Luis Borges!
4 thoughts on “May Round up!

  1. 10 books in one month is still a huge accomplishment (I’m happy if I can stick to one book a week! Anything above that is gravy!). I like to remind myself that it’s not the quantity of books I read, it’s the quality, and on that front, you’ve read some great ones.

    Can’t wait for your first LAAH – the book of short stories I took out has “The Aleph” by Borges in it.

  2. I love seeing all your ratings together like this. It gives me a really good picture of your taste in books. I was looking forward to reading The Ghost Writer, but as it is the worst book you read this month I think I’ll avoid it.

    Everyone else seems to be raving about 19th Wife – perhaps because they are reviewing it on a book tour? I wasn’t very impressed with it, and can see you ranked it fairly low too.

    I’m looking forward to your review of Tender Morsels – I’m considering buying it.

    10 is a great number of books to read. I wouldn’t worry at all.

Leave a Reply

