The Sunday Salon

TSSbadge1

Hello regular readers and Sunday Salon visiters!  As you know, right this second, I’m probably sleeping in a beach chair, covered in sun screen, and reading a good book.  I’m going to talk a little bit about my beach reading and why I picked it for this particular vacation.  A little departure for me –  my Sunday Salon post will actually be about books!

tender-morsels

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Tender Morsels – Margo Lanagan

 

 

 

 

 

Who else but Nymeth would get me interested in this book?  I’ve started it and it’s absolutely magical.  It’s a quick read, I’m already about 100 pages in after an hour or so of reading.  So far, what I’ve gathered, is it’s a sort of fairy tale.  There are two sisters.  Etc. Etc.  Thus far, I’d say Nymeth certainly hasn’t let me down on this one.  I can’t wait to finish and share my review when I get back!  Also for Once Upon a Time III challenge.

burning sea

 

 

 

Beside a Burning Sea – John Shors

 

I picked this one up for no other reason than the pretty cover.  Really.  I don’t think I even read the back.  I liked the title and I thought the cover was gorgeous.  Thankfully, Trish from Hey Lady!  has posted a positive review.  I’m looking forward to reading this one now too!  Not just looking at the pretty cover.

2666cover

 

 

 2666 – Robert Bolaño 

I needed an excuse to buy the boxed set version of this, and a combined sale on Amazon and Steph of Steph and Tony Investigate’s and Claire of Kiss a Cloud’s 2666 Readalong didn’t leave me any options!  I just had to splurge.  Really.  I had to.  Had to.  I love Latin American Lit, so I’m eagerly anticipating this one.  

 

 

 

 The Mystery of Grace New

 

The Mystery of Grace – Charles De Lint

The newest book by De Lint?  Do I need another reason?  Nope.  Also qualifying for OUTIII. 

 

cellist

The Cellist of Sarajevo – Steven Galloway 

This is one of those books that made the rounds on the book blogosphere a couple months ago, and I put it on hold at the library after reading really great things about it.  It’s due back at the library soon, so it’s made its way to the top of the pile.

These are the books I hope to finish this week!  It’s a lot, but the beach somehow makes you read faster.  I’m convinced.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. I really want to try some Charles de Lint – the last time I was at the used bookstore, I found a book by him, but unfortunately the back cover suggested it was the second in a series, so we figured we should hold off until we found a copy of the first book. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts!

    And I hope you find 2666 to be a good beach read. Perhaps if you got the boxset version, you won’t find it so unwieldy (I have the harcover version)!

  2. I saw Nymeth’s review of Tender Morsels too. I nearly bought it after reading her review. I wonder if your review will swing it for me!

    Thank you for linking to my Cellist of Sarajevo review. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it. It is so beautifully written, but sad.

  3. I can’t wait to see what you think of Tender Morsels. I read it several months ago and loved it. Glad your joining the 2666 read-a-long, it should be an interesting discussion. Have a great week!

  4. I have a hold for Tender Morsels. 🙂 I tend to read more slowly on the beach, but that’s because I have to go swim in the ocean all the time, lol.

  5. I’ll be adding Tender Morsels to my list. I read Nymeth’s blog, but it seems I missed that one. I also hope to read The Cellist of Sarajevo at some point – the premise sounds quite interesting, and I like the idea of one musician touching so many lives.

  6. That is an awesome reading week ahead of you! Also reading the Bolano with Claire and Steph and am very excited to see everyone’s reading notes. Such a great shared read idea. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

