Booking Through Thursday

btt2

This week’s BTT question was fascinating and I couldn’t pass it up, even if I’m going to be a little late in answering the question.  The question was:  What book would you love to be able to read again for the first time?  This is a great question!  I think one of the highest praise someone can give a book is “Oo, I’m so jealous that you haven’t read that yet!”  My aunt told me that when she realized I’d never read Interview with a Vampire (still haven’t!  Will soon though, hopefully.)  And since then, it’s been a compliment I think about every time I recommend a book.  There are some books that are better savored and reread, but there are some that will never be quite as magical as the first time you read them.  I think I found this a lot more when I was younger.  I would read and reread books, trying to recapture that magical feeling I got when I read them for the first time.  

Oh, to be able to read Ella Enchanted for the first time again!

I would pay a lot of money to forget A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, just so I can experience that magic one more time.  I know on my first reread of this novel I will find many more reasons tof all in love with it, but I’ll never forget that first read.

How about Fingersmith?  Those twists and turns only come around once. 

Or what about A Wrinkle in Time?  Can we talk about how that book changed my life?  How I remember what clothes I was wearing when I was reading it?  How long it took me?  How many times I tried to read passages out loud to my mother only to have her raise her eyebrows at me and listen.  Grudgingly.  

So, I guess, if I only had to pick one, it would be A Wrinkle in Time.  But only if I was allowed to go back and read it with my 10 year old eyes.

5 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday

  1. Yes, Fingersmith! That would be my number one choice. Definitely a unique experience.

    I still haven’t read Ella Enchanted. Sounds like I’m in for a treat!

  2. Everyone who reads Fingersmith RAVES about it… but I still haven’t read it yet. I think I’m going to have to read it soon!

    I think you make a great point about being able to read a book in the original frame of mind you had when you first read it. There were books I looooved when I was a kid, but I don’t think they’d hold the same magic for me if I read them for the first time as an adult.

  3. Ahhh, the ten-year-old eyes. I recently re-read A Wrinkle In Time with eyes much older than ten. it’s not the same.

    p.s. I’m holding The White Tiger for you. If you’ll send your mailing info to me I can get it in the mail to you Tuesday.

    I’m at 204mountain at comcast dot net

  4. I’ve read A Wrinkle in Time as an adult but not as a child, so I know I’m probably missing something. Can you believe I haven’t read the other three books yet? They’re on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

