100th Post!!1!!

100days

I realize that is the worst graphic ever, but it’s all I could do with MSPaint.  Please see these other folks who are much better at MSPaint than I am.  I also find bad graphics to be charming.  So I’ve done it!  I’ve posted 100 times!  And now to celebrate, I’m going on vacation.   I’m heading to the beach and I cannot wait.  Last night I was all jittery and couldn’t sleep like a little kid at christmastime.  I would wake up and check the clock and say something along the lines of “Oh good, I can get up in 2.5 hours.”  Or… “Yes!  Only 30 more minutes of sleep time!!!”  This is an EPIC JOURNEY because, as you may or may not know, I am carless.  I will hopefully not be carless for much longer, but for the moment, I’m hitching rides all over the state.  This morning my boss drove me to the town where Z lives (about an hour and a half from my house).  She happened to be going to a meeting in the building across from his apartment complex.  So serendipitous!  Next step, Z and I are driving south until we get tired, then we’ll stop and sleep.  After that, we’ll meet my parents at our rented cottage and will hang out for a few days.  I still haven’t figured out how I’m getting back to my house.  That will be another story for another day.  Hopefuly with the help of some more serendipity.  Now I’m on the first part of my epic journey, the part where I still have internet access.  I’m going to try to schedule some posts, but I’ve been having bad luck with the post scheduler, so we’ll see.  I promise to do the comment catch-up when I get home.

As for packing, I have a problem.  Last summer when I went on this same vacation, I didn’t bring enough books.  I brought House of Leaves and maybe one other book because I thought it was going to take me the whole week to read.  I ended up reading it in two nights… even though the first quarter of the book had taken me six months or so.  So then I was bookless and it was painful.  But I think I might have overcompensated.  To be fair, I brought a nice combination of library books and books I own so I don’t have to ruin library books at the beach.  Sometimes I try to ignore my grandmother’s voice in my head and bring them anyway, but I always feel guilty.  

Books I am bringing to the beach:

Tender Morsels  by Margo Lanagan 
Beside a Burning Sea by John Shors
2666 (the first book) by Roberto Bolaño, for Steph and Tony Investigate!’s readalong
Herzog by Saul Bellows
The Mystery of Grace by Charles De Lint
The Cellist of Sarajevo by Steven Galloway
The Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich

It could happen.   Maybe.  

It feels so good to be on the road again.  I am a nomad by birth.  I have lived out of a suitcase during the summer for most of my life.  The rhythm of the road and the passing of the miles, the open windows and the perfect weather early summer weather makes me so happy.  Every ride is like going home, no matter where I’m going.  

Because you just sat through and read all that (I’m very grateful), I am hosting a giveaway!!!!  It’s the 100th Post Celebration!  

All you have to do is leave a comment and tell me your favorite beach location!  I’ll random.org it when I get back on June 1st.  If you are already a subscriber or become a subscriber, I will give you another entry.   What do you win??  Um, well, it’s kind of a surprise.  Like a care package?  With bookish things?  I don’t want to give it away.  Doesn’t that make it more exciting?  Sort of?  I hope so!  

Happy holiday weekend everyone!  Have lots of fun and eat lots of good food and enjoy the sunny weather.  I’ll see you all on the first!

13 thoughts on “100th Post!!1!!

  1. i’m sorry, you’ve actually READ house of leaves?!?!?! i wrote an entire post about that book!!!! it HAUNTS me. i hate it. i couldn’t ever get further than 40 pages in to it!

    have a nice holiday weekend.

  2. Congrats on hitting 100 posts! Things have been so busy around here that my reading (and therefore posting) has dropped quit a bit in the last month give or take, so 100 posts is a great accomplishment!

    Fortuitously, I just decided to try to set up a bloglines account and try out this RSS thing today! So I am a subscriber! And my favorite beach spot would have to be Miami, FL. Such heavenly beach time, and so much good food… I’m hoping Charleston, SC is good too, since that’s where I’m honeymooning come July!

    Hopefully those books will be good companions. I’ll be sure to pack a wide variety for the honeymoon, because the last book I brought to the beach was a massive tome that just didn’t do it for me and I was sad… I have read the first book of 2666, and while parts dragged, by and large I liked it!

  3. Congrats on 100! That pic is hilarious, lol. My favourite beach place is anywhere along the Gulf of Mexico. 😀 Living in San Antonio, we went to Corpus Christi a lot. And one of my set of grandparents live in very, very south Florida (as far as you can go and still be on the Gulf), which is fun.

  4. Congratulations on your 100th post! My favorite beach is a little beach called Cherry Beach where I live in Southern California. I can always go during the week and find it deserted. It’s small but so relaxing.I have every single book on your list on my TBR list except Bellows and Shors. Have a great vacation.

  5. Congratulations! I am a newbie subscriber to your blog. Thanks! Hmmm…I never get to go to a beach so this one’s hard…so I guess I have to say Vegas pool is my favorite. I know I know…not a beach but I still get to soak up sun and read books. Have a great vacation! Good luck with your book pile!

  6. I’m actually not a big fan of beaches, even though I do love the ocean. But I still wanted to say congratulations, and have a wonderful vacation 😀

  7. Oooh, congratulations on your post count! And I hope you’ll have loads of fun on your vacation!

    And like Nymeth I’m not a huge fan of beaches. I like wind, though, so beaches are a good place to find that. Alas, no one ever wants to come to the beach on windy days and I live a little too far away to go on my own.

  8. Congrats! 100 posts, graduation, vacation, you’re life is just so exciting right now! As you know, I’m a Jersey girl, so my favorite beach place is down the shore, as we say. Family friends have a house in a tiny Victorian-era town called Ocean Grove and it’s where many of my best childhood memories took place.

    Good luck in your travels!

  9. How did I miss this post?! So many happy things in it!! Happy 100 posts! I feel like you just started blogging…how did it turn 100 posts old already? My favorite beach location would most DEFINITELY be Riviera Maya in Mexico. I went there after I graduated with my Master’s and it was absolutely gorgeous!! We visited Playa Del Carmen for one day too and it was such a neat little city. Reminded me a lot of the french quarter down here in New Orleans actually. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

