Sunday Salon

tssbadge21

Technically it is Sunday.  But I don’t want it to be because that’s always just a few more hours closer to going back to the work/school week, and this one is going to be killer.  It’s exam week, and I’m up until 12 on a Saturday doing homework.  To be turned in in the morning.  Sunday morning. And I’m shockingly okay with this.  I’m feeling good, feeling motivated (well, sort of.  I’m taking a break to write this.)  I’m still up to my neck in stuff to do, but the light is on the horizon.  This time in two weeks I will be a college graduate. That is freaking weird.  I will possess a BA in Spanish.  I’m not really growing up – hopefully in the fall I will be attending graduate school for my MA in Spanish, then after that… who knows.  But honestly?  Probably more school.  I’m doing that job thing that everyone keeps talking about right now, and I’d much rather go to school.  Really. Not that I don’t love my job, but school and I are best friends.

I’m pretty sure the reality of graduation hasn’t hit yet.  I’m still thinking about those two 10 page papers left to turn in and my thesis defense next Friday.  And how I’m going to coordinate two sides of a family that have no connection other than me.  I have a feeling that it’s going to be a checklist of things to get done, and when the family leaves on Saturday afternoon, it’s going to hit me like a bunch of bricks.  The emptiness of my schedule and the lack of a concrete plan for the next year will be a rude awakening, I’m sure.  So I’m bracing myself just a little bit, but I’m also reveling a little  in writing this paper tonight.  I’m going to enjoy the next two weeks – because I’m not a college graduate yet.

As for book news, I read If I Stay by Gayle Forman.  I’m still thinking about it.  It was a fast read – I started it Friday night and finished it this morning while Z was still sleeping.  It was certainly a tear-jerker.  I bought it for my 14-year-old sister for her birthday and wanted to read it before I gave it to her.  Just to make sure (and for my own enjoyement).  And she’ll never know, unless she reads this and I don’t know it (Hi sis!).  I think she can handle it.  I also bought The Invention of Hugo Cabret for my other sister’s birthday and I’m working my way through that one.  She doesn’t like to read (gasp!  I know!) and she’s stuck in a family of avid readers.  She always wants to find books that are interesting, but they never keep her attention.  I was thinking that maybe she just isn’t reading the right kind of books.  From what I’ve seen so far, I think Hugo Cabret might just be something that she can really enjoy.  I hope so!

One thing that I’ve been thinking about a lot is commenting.  I’m the worst comment responder on the planet. It’s not that I don’t want to respond to your comments, it’s just that I don’t know how to do without being awkward.  So I think I’m going to start a new weekly post where I respond to all the comments that week.  Is this a dumb idea?  Is it something you would want to read, or even care about?  Let me know!

So I’m back off to paper writing.  I’m up to 11,000 and 34 pages… just a few more to go.  Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon

  1. Lu,

    I don’t know about most people, but I’m going to say I think most people simply want to be acknowledged. Commenting doesn’t have to be stressful and it certainly doesn’t require major ruminating. How awkward can it be to say, “I appreciate you coming by and commenting”? If someone asks you something, answer honestly and briefly. Trying to keep up with all comments and then creating a massive response to all sounds like a headache.

    I’m on the opposite end- I respond regularly because to me, it’s a conversation. I treat comments the same as if I were talking with someone. In my mind, writing is communication, and I prefer communication to go two ways. If we’re not engaging each other I really don’t see the point.

    If you’re hugely popular and have a gazillion comments, again, think of how you’d speak to invited guests. You make a general statement that you’re glad everyone came by. I don’t think this is disingenuous because the whole point again is acknowledgment. Lastly, I think if someone takes the time to read and comment, then the least I can do is to respond.

  2. My Dear Lu,
    I believe that if you wrote a weekly comment responding post many people would read and love it– I know I would! I understand about being awkward as it consumes every aspect of my life, so I can respect your lack or responding (I mean, it’s not like you didn’t respond to comments because you were a douche and just hate all living things). I cannot wait to read your weekly comment responding posts and to leave you an abundance of comments on all your future posts.

    Your Faithful Follower,
    PSB

  3. So you read the actual books that you buy as gifts for others? I read the books first, too. At least, for books for my Dad – I must first find out if appropriate!

    I am changing it up on how to respond to comments, too – it’s curious to even know if anyone comes back to see my response? Of course, it’s SO much easier to track the conversations btw WPers but I don’t often go back to other blogs just to see if they’ve responded to something I’ve commented. And I doubt non-WPers come back to mine? I do it out of courtesy.

    and congrats on finals! soon to be a college GRAD! and going to the next level. WAHOO!

  4. I think that’s a great idea! (Although my problem lies in commenting on other people’s posts rather than replying to their comments.) I do agree with Susan that, to me, commenting is like having a short conversation with someone. The comments that leave me awkward are usually the one you can’t really say anything in response too. The ones that you can only say “Thank you!” or “You’re welcome!” too. Those make me a bit uncomfortable, but less now than they used to.

    Good luck with the finals! I hope everything went wonderfully and that you’ll not face too much of a shock when you’re a college grad!

Leave a Reply

