First paragraph, and a confession

So, I feel like a little bit of a book-blog-stalker-creep.  Why, you ask?  Because do you ever accidentally read every book that another blogger has been reading?  And then worry that they’ll notice?  Well, that’s how it has been with Daphne’s blog “somewhere i have never travelled.”  I just had to confess that all her reviews are making me read the books she’s reading.  First I read The Wood Wife and I’m so glad I did, it was awesome.    I just picked up The Ghost Writer by John Harwood and the first paragraph has me completely hooked!

I first saw the photograph on a hot January afternoon in my mother’s bedroom.  She was asleep – or so I thought – in the sunroom at the other end of the house.  I crept in through the half-open door, enjoying the feeling of trespass, breathing the scents of perfume and powder and lipstick and other adult smells, mothballs for the silverfish and insect spray for the mosquitoes our screens never quite managed to keep out.  The net curtains were drawn, the blind half lowered; there was nothing to see through the window except the blank brick wall of old Mrs. Noonan’s place next door.

Man, I don’t really know what it is about this first paragraph, but I tell you I’m sold.

I might add Anansi Boys and the Seance to my list, but wouldn’t that be too weird?  Don’t judge me!

5 thoughts on “First paragraph, and a confession

  1. Yes – I stalk several people! I think they will be flattered though!

    I read The Seance by John Harwood recently, and really enjoyed it. I’ve just got a copy of The Ghost Writer. I hadn’t had a look at the first page though – it does look great!

    I haven’t seen Daphne’s blog before – so I’m off to have a look!

  2. I would be somewhat flattered, but mostly just worried that someone would read a book based on my recommendation and then not like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

